The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
There is the little drive in in Lufkin, TX called Rays Drive In, they serve the best steak fingers you will ever eat and these are the closest to it I have ever come across and I made them myself. I am not a good cook LOL so my husband was knocked off his feet when he came home to this Chicken Fried Steak! I have four kids and they all loved it as well. Make sure you do them at room temperature and use the hot sauce as it ads flavor not heat. I made my own buttermilk as well by adding lemon juice to milk, it was easy and only had to let it set 30mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
The steak and the gravy both had a good flavor. Next time I will definitely experiment with a few other spices/seasonings to give it a little more pop. It was really fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Davenport

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I found it to be quite labour intensive and the steak and gravy are really nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I followed the directions exactly with only one variation: I seasoned the flour with garlic powder, salt and pepper. Absolutely delicious my husband and daughter are both picky eaters and they both said this is their new favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shondonny
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This turned out great but I made brown gravy with the drippings. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie Macdonald Lirette
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I have to honestly say that this is the best chicken fried steak recipe that I have ever come across my daughter is a very picky eater and she actually ate the whole thing I love it and I will add this to my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I have to say I'm usually very good at following recipes..but I just tried this and it did NOT work for me. What am I doing wrong?! I felt I followed the directions to the T..used all the right ingredients..but the meat did not cook. I tried cutting into it and it was nowhere near to being edible. The breading was completely done, there was no way I could have cooked it any longer. Someone please help lol :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I made this exactly how the recipe was written. There was NO WAY enough salt. It was very very bland. The breading was excellent but had almost no flavor at all. Very disappointed. The family liked it and so did I but I would have to work on the seasoning before serving it again. Also, the gravy was grainy and awful. I wouldn't make the gravy using pan drippings and just oil again. It was kind of gross to me, not smooth at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I'm so glad that I tried this recipe for my first time using cubed steak! It was so tender and crispy! I will ramp up the seasonings as we can take a higher spice level..maybe salt, pepper, and cayenne on the meat before dredging with the flour mixture. Hubby and I felt that the fried steak would make an awesome sandwich...probably a great addition to a BLT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I really had high hopes for this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and the suggestion of seasoning the meat before battering, and it turned out horribly. Like other reviewers, this batter was too thick. When I fried it, the batter came off. The gravy tasted like flour and milk. The meat had no flavor, all I could tase was grease. Just not good. I didnt even serve it to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States