The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
My husband has asked for chicken fried steak for a while now, and I tried this recipe tonight and loved it. I used a fry daddy and vegetable oil to fry the steak. It was delish! And I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
There are very few recipes that I have tried that failed completely. I'm not sure why exactly, but these turned out nothing like what I am use to when it comes to chicken-fried steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Harlow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I'll keep this review straight to the point. This was AMAZING and simple. I've been making chicken fried steak for years and it has always been mediocre. Well not anymore. The hot sauce and garlic give it a kick and the gravy is incredibly easy to make and can be seasoned up however you feel fit. I personally always add a teaspoon of my better than boullion base to my sauces. Just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandzilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Delicious! Wonderful crust on the steak, tasty gravy. My family couldn't get enough. I used vegetable oil instead of shortening with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Followed the recipe with everything except 3 cups of shortening for frying. I used 1 stick of shortening and 1/2 cup of vegetable oil. I let my oil stay too hot and the bits and flour got too dark in the bottom of the pan, ill have to monitor the temp a little better next time. I seasoned the steaks on both sides with salt and pepper prior to pounding out. I placed steaks between 2 pieces of plastic wrap, and kept the mallot clean. I love the idea of using buttermilk and hot sauce in the egg mixture, I think that Ill cut back a tad bit on the hot sauce though next time. I never buy buttermilk..for every 1 cup of buttermilk needed; I replace 2 tablespoons of regular milk with 2 tablespoons of white vinegar or lemon juice and let sit for 5 minutes to sour. I didnt have a problem with the breading coming off of the meat, a few of the tricks to preventing this is to make sure the oil is hot enoug as well as have the steaks at room temperature when breading and frying. This is to prevent too much rapid shrinkage. If the cubed steaks are very cold when breaded and frying, the meat will shrink very fast leaving gaps between the fried breading and the meat causing the breading to come off more easy. Also only flip the steaks ONCE!! resist the urge to keep flipping back and forth! Too much flipping will cause the breading to loosen and come off. Next time Ill only make half the recipe for gravy, as written it makes way too much for just 4 servings. Great recipe! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Pecbot Brown

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
So yummy! I followed the directions exactly, other than seasoning the cube steaks before dredging in flour. The flavor of both the Chicken Fried Steaks and the gravy were right on for my family. I was hesitant to use the Tabasco in the batter, but I'm glad I did. It's not enough to add heat (my kids would not eat it if it were spicy), just flavor. I do think that the recipe takes quite a bit longer than 40 minutes, but I cooked 6 steaks, mashed potatoes, gravy and corn on the cob in about an hour and a half. This is an occasional indulgence for us, and I will definitely use this recipe again next time! Thanks Norah!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Absolutely fantastic. Made a chicken gravy to go with. Excellent!! I agree with another reviewer, you need to season the meat with S & P before the first dredge in flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I wasn't really impressed with the flavor, but I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
The texture of the breading was spot on, but even though I tweaked it and added spices, it was so bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yakuza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I used Gluten Free flour and left out the hot sauce. I bought the powered buttermilk that someone mentioned here and added it to the dry ingredients first before adding the liquid portion of the batter. This recipe was enough to make 6 large cubed steaks (3-4 lb. total) and still had batter left over. The coating came off the first steak; possibly didn't have the oil heated high enough. The rest of the steaks came out perfectly with a nice thick crust. I had never used baking soda & powder and the double dip method to fry foods before. Tasted just as good as restaurant versions I've order. The gravy came out perfect too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 622) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States