The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
Made as is. Great! Being a Southerner I am very familiar with chicken fried steak, and this was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This is my favorite recipe for chicken fried steak and my first time making it! It was crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside, perfect with mash potatoes and sweet corn..YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This is truly the best way to go, I also use it with chicken, my family LOVES it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilboa, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Really an en excellent recipe! It was a "feel good" comfort food that evoked a lot of great memories for my wife and I and our time in Oklahoma. I agree with one of the other reviewers that salt and peppering the meat first may enhance the flavor. This was a big hit tonight at our house and fun to make. I highly recommend it served with mashed potatoes and a veggie on the side. This is the chicken fried steak recipe I will use from now on. After I was through I put some red pepper and a little sugar in the batter and fried up some flattened chicken breast for spicy chicken sandwiches and they were really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
So good. Turned out perfectly crispy and the steak inside was so moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Family ate every bit of it. Not a crumb left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I am giving this 4 stars as I did make some changes due to the reviews. First I seasoned the steaks with salt, garlic powder and pepper. I also used the same seasoning combo in the flour. No measurements I just shake some in mix it up and smell. I also added more hot sauce the "batter" was orangeish. Second, I didn't use crisco, I used vegetable oil. Third, I was not NOT wasting 4 cups of milk (milk is expensive) for gravy. That's ridiculous, I used 2 cups milk and a pouch of brown gravy mix as well as a little oil from the bottom of the pan. added pepper. This was a huge hit. My husband wants it in the rotation, it didn't take long to make, my 17 month old daughter was a "clean plater" and wanted seconds. I loved the flavor and crunch, and liked the gravy very much, w/o the modifiations the gravy would have been bland. My husband did request that I make country gravy next time just because he likes country gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Our family loved this!! I cooked in vegetable oil rather than shortening simply because I was out. I loved the addition of Tabasco sauce, it gives it a really nice subtle flavor but not spicy. I have added this to our regular meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Made this tonight, it had good reviews. I am vegetarian, so I didn't try it, but my meat eating people liked it. The only things I did differently was for the flour mix I added extra garlic and some Red Robin seasoning...I reserved the remaining flour mix for my gravy instead of plain flour, and I added some sausage drippings. Thank you for posting this, I am sure it will be a regular for our Sunday breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SH0NI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Awesome and delicious!!! This Chicken fried steak was the best I've ever made...We all enjoyed it, my man loved it and he's eaten alot of CFS. My 16 year old son also loved it, said it was the best I ever made! Thanx for the wonderful recipe Norah! I will be making CFS this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States