The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was so easy to make and turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This was my first attempt at making Chicken Fried Steak and I must say this one is a keeper!!! The recipe was flawless and it was very simple. The only change I would make is seasoning the steak first. Also, I used vegetable oil vs shortening and it was still delightful. I made a brown gravy with the drippings. My family really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
The meat needs to be lightly seasoned before breading but otherwise I found this recipe to be easy and tasty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I made this recipe gluten-free and dairy-free and LOVED IT! I replaced the flour with Bob's Red Mill all-purpose gluten-free flour, replaced the buttermilk with soy milk and a tablespoon of lemon juice, and replaced the milk in the gravy with rice milk. (Soy milk is a little too sweet for gravy.) I added garlic to everything, because in my house, you can't ever have too much garlic, and I took the advise of others and seasoned the meat before coating. I also used half chicken and half cube steak. (Pound out the chicken, too!) The chicken was just as good, maybe better? (And now I know I can do allergy-free fried chicken!) Next time, I will season the batter a litte more, too, with more salt, pepper, and of course, garlic. Overall, this recipe is AMAZING, and it was great to have chicken fried steak and chicken once again, after years of missing out due to allergies. Also, the other 3 "non-allergics" in the house said it was definitely a keeper! We all cleaned our plates! Thanks for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My family loved this recipe. Its a keeper. Only thing different I did was add more heat. I added 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, and a shake or 2 more tabasco sauce, and more pepper in flour. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gina1463

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
By far the best Chicken Fried Steak I've ever had. Couldn't be simpler and regarding the buttermilk, as another posted it's easy to make buttermilk yourself using lemon juice and whole milk so there's no leftover. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly and it came out great! Next time I will season the meat first to give it more flavor, but the crust is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great recipe, we loved it. I did season the meat quite thoroughly with garlic, salt, pepper, cayenne and paprika. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
First time I had ever made Chicken Fried Steak and it was AWESOME!!!! Family loved it. Even my picky eater son ate it and it is very hard for me to get him to eat any meat. Used whole milk instead of butter milk and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
It was my first time making chicken fried steak and it came out wonderful! My husband and I both really loved this! Served with mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. Didn't have buttermilk on hand so combined milk and some vinegar, and let it set for about 10 minutes. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States