The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
As always, skillet chicken fried steak is a lot of work but it was a good recipe!! I never have buttermilk and always to the 1 tbls of white vinegar and fill the rest of the 1 cup up with milk...and I had more than half of the 'buttermilk' left over. I absolutely hate getting my cast iron skillet out since you don't have the convenience of throwing it in the dishwasher to wash afterward:) I ran out of all purpose flour (didn't even have enough for batter so just put in some panko bread crumbs to finish the 2 cups) but did have a packet of dry brown gravy so I prepared that using the 'scraps' left in the pan. I've been told by my husband it is the best recipe for chicken fried steak we have tried so far so I will be keeping the recipe!! And since I re-seasoned my pan with shortening in the oven, the cleanup wasn't that bad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin 'Bower' Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vana
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe was pretty good. I have never had chicken fried steak before and was amazed at how much it looked like fried chicken . The only suggestion I might make (like many others) is to season the steak with salt and pepper before the initial dip in the flour. Also I substituted the shortening for plain old vegitable oil. If you are a lover of well seasoned dishes you might also want to add an extra dash of salt and pepper to the flour and the buttermilk batter as well. **please note that the gravy in my picture is not the one in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I have to tell you, I made this when a friend butchered one of our older cows. We got a lot of cubed steak (which now I am happy about) and I had to figure something to do with it. I really enjoy a good CFS. I made this several times and every time my husband said how good it is. He made the comment that I have probably ruined him for any other. We used to order it quite often in restaurants. thank you for a GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clatskanie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is really a very good recipe! One note that has been mentioned that you really need to heed..get those steaks thin..that way you can be sure your meat is done when your coating is nice and golden brown. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jetchef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
First of all, the meat really needs seasoning. I didn't, and the steak was incredibly bland. Also added more garlic to the gravy for extra flavor. it all turned out ok but there are several things I will do differently next time, including pounding my cube steaks. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I added 1/4 teaspoon paprika and ceyene pepper to batter for a little extra kick. Everyone wants the recipe. Turned out very well. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for Chicken Fried Steak. I made it for my nieces boyfriend who is a chef and he raved about it. Even my picky eater loves "the crunchy steak" and will eat a whole one. I found some powered buttermilk at the store and tried it. You just mix it with water (or canned milk) and it worked great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bigmamaskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
best chicken fried steak I've ever had. I used regular milk instead of buttermilk and it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Awesome - too bad it is not 'healthier' so I can have it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States