The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This was delicious. Of course, it took a little cook time since it was batch cooking, but it was a big hit. Made lots of awesome gravy! Good on day 2 too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
The steak itself was good, but the gravy was lacking flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ripon, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe. I did as other reviewers suggested and seasoned the meat before putting into the flour mixture. I will be making this again! Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
Amazing. Simply the best fried steak I have ever made. My mother in law was raised on a farm by a woman who refused to cook on anything other than a wood stove until she died in the 80s. So she knows good home cooking. When she ate this, she loved it. DON'T cut the hot sauce. It is what makes it so glorious. I have made it with 2% before and it turned out well...I could tell no difference, but if I ever cut the hot sauce it is not nearly as good. I also don't make the gravy as directed. I find it has better flavor is I use a cream gravy mix in place of the flour. We use reserve tobasco, which has a smoother flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Grove, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
Messy prep but sooo worth it! I used chicken and the chicken mcnugget princess said she loved it and wants this for now on instead of nuggets. That speaks volumes as to how awesome this recipe is! Our new favorite for sure! Thank you for sharing this one :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
One of the best tasting recipies for Chicken/Southern fried steak EVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was pretty tasty - the coating was perfectly seasoned. I had to use 1 1/2 tsp garlic powder in place of the cloves. I found that I didn't really have to cook the steaks in cups and cups of shortening. Maybe a quarter cup of vegetable oil was all I needed for each steak. When I tried using three cups of fat, the steaks fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
As always, skillet chicken fried steak is a lot of work but it was a good recipe!! I never have buttermilk and always to the 1 tbls of white vinegar and fill the rest of the 1 cup up with milk...and I had more than half of the 'buttermilk' left over. I absolutely hate getting my cast iron skillet out since you don't have the convenience of throwing it in the dishwasher to wash afterward:) I ran out of all purpose flour (didn't even have enough for batter so just put in some panko bread crumbs to finish the 2 cups) but did have a packet of dry brown gravy so I prepared that using the 'scraps' left in the pan. I've been told by my husband it is the best recipe for chicken fried steak we have tried so far so I will be keeping the recipe!! And since I re-seasoned my pan with shortening in the oven, the cleanup wasn't that bad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin 'Bower' Zimmerman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vana
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe was pretty good. I have never had chicken fried steak before and was amazed at how much it looked like fried chicken . The only suggestion I might make (like many others) is to season the steak with salt and pepper before the initial dip in the flour. Also I substituted the shortening for plain old vegitable oil. If you are a lover of well seasoned dishes you might also want to add an extra dash of salt and pepper to the flour and the buttermilk batter as well. **please note that the gravy in my picture is not the one in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
I have to tell you, I made this when a friend butchered one of our older cows. We got a lot of cubed steak (which now I am happy about) and I had to figure something to do with it. I really enjoy a good CFS. I made this several times and every time my husband said how good it is. He made the comment that I have probably ruined him for any other. We used to order it quite often in restaurants. thank you for a GREAT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fancy Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clatskanie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 641) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States