The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Absolutely loved this! I've made it twice and my husband can't get enough. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Could of been better. I should have looked for tips prior to making this. It probably would have enhanced the recipe. Bland and I really didn't see the point of using buttermilk. My mom loved it though...goes to show our different tastes. Might try again....not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kokomoky
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
The 1st two that I fried were a disaster. Followed the recipe exactly, but coating came completely off in the pan. I searched the reviews frantically for help. Thank you EKERR19 for this recipe saving tip!: rub salt & pepper on the steaks before dredging. After dredging, let them sit for a couple of minutes on a wire rack before frying. The rest of the steaks came out beautifully using this tip. I fried in an electric skillet, 5 min per side, then transferred to a cast iron to make the gravy. Delicious, & so tender! Made it for my parents, & they loved it! Served with mashed potatoes & "Grandma's Baking Powder Biscuits". Success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Matthew
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
This was a great recipe. The only change I made was using the wet & dry dredge to make "Dredge Pucks" which I served the gravy over. They turned out great & I'm sure I'll do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Yummy! Didn't have butter milk used the suggested cream of tartar and lemon juice! My family and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diandra Neugent

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
This recipe was fantastic!! I did the buttermilk substitution as some reviewers had posted (thank you!), but otherwise, I did not change anything. My southern born husband absolutely loved it!! It turned out crispy and the coating stayed on. I had no problems creating this dish. Thank you Norah for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I tried this.recipe tonight and got to say it was very good, although I did make some changes; I patted the steaks dry then seasoned them with salt abd pepper then mixed in the flour and coating. I made a difference and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This recipe is soooo delicious! I've tried many for chicken fried steak and this is the one my family and I love!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BTRICH
Reviewed: May 20, 2014
WINNER WINNER CHICKEN DINNER!!! We'll steak but you're ready for it to be chicken and then you bite into a surprise! Great and easier than I thought. Gravy came out a tad bland. Only thing I would change for next time is maybe use Siracha instead of hot sauce for a little kick and added flavor, but otherwise noisy and cooked perfect. Definitely follow 3-5 minute rule! Great with the garlic green bean recipe I got off here too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Cooked this for my husband tonight and we both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States