The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Not a big fan of this recipe, I think I will stick to my taste of home recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
The entire family loved it. I didn't make the gravy, as we are not big gravy eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This is really truly a great recipe. I used the video hint of putting the steaks on a cookie rack to rest/dry before frying, and I think that really helps keep the breading intact. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Wow! So good! I was really nervous to try this as I had never made chicken fried anything before, but it turned out exceptionally well! We got some axis (deer) cutlets from a friend and he suggested we "chicken fry" them. I am so glad we did. I prepared them just like the recipe states and there wasn't even a "gamey" flavor to them. Thanks for this winner recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
My BF usually is known for his chicken fried steak. Well he had to work so I made it, never had made it before. This recipe was awesome,now I'm the one who is known for this dish. The only thing I did different was to add chicken broth to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karero99
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
This was a wonderful recipe for chicken fried steak. Flavors were amazing. I did not have shortening or buttermilk on hand, so I substituted canola oil and 2% milk. They worked out just fine. The steak is best cooked in the cast iron skillet as recommended in the recipe as it cooks evenly and you have no problems with the steak sticking to the pan as long as you do not cook on too high a heat. Thanks so much for this great recipe. Family loved it and I will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is a phenomenal recipe. I made it just as the recipe says but left out the Tabasco Sauce as my husband doesn't eat spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
The title says it all! I have eaten chicken fried steak since I was in the crib, have made my own, eaten my grandmas and dad's version and this hands down was my favorite. I'm thinking it's the egg wash with the baking powder, baking soda and buttermilk that made the difference. I did put a little paprika and cayenne pepper in the flour for a little extra flavoring. And be sure and let it sit for a while after the dipping to help the breading stay on. And if you don't cook in cast iron, go right out NOW and get you a good frying pan. I recommend Lodge brand, made in America!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I bought good quality cube steaks at a local butcher shop but these turned out so chewy that we could hardly eat them! I checked the steaks and didn't see any obvious gristle. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
A very good and tasty recipe. To boost flavor, instead of salt in the flour mix I use Morton Season All seasoned salt, and 2 tbs. A good way to make the flour to stick to the batter: instead of patting the flour onto the steak, press very firmly with your palm, rocking sideways and forward/back. I normally start with a good portion of the flour mix to the side. I put the battered steak in the main mix then pour the flour to the side over it then start pressing, then flip and repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 634) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States