The Best Chicken Fried Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I found this recipe bland and just ho-hum. I have had better chicken fried steak at restaurants where I didn't have to spend all that time making it. This took much longer to prepare than the recipe states. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lins

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
So this is the second time that have made this recipe and I tried a few changes if your interested. First I used ground chicken this time instead of cube steak. Since ground chicken is so mild and moist, I added a half of cup of panko and 1 T each of Worchester sauce and soy sauce. I stayed true to the rest of the recipe and they turned out great! The panko was the perfect binder for the ground chicken and the soy and Worchester sauce gave it a rich flavor. Either way beef or chicken, this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candy bar

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
This sounds really good. I'll probably make it soon. I just wanted to let you all know you can freeze butter milk. I used ice cube trays and measuring cups and then put the frozen cubes in a fezzer bag. It works great and then you don't waste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Surgtech13
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
Family loved this and it was fun to make with my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surgtech13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
The only changes I made were instead of buttermilk I used sour milk and instead of shortening to fry, equal parts bacon grease and oil. Turned out awesome! I would season the gravy at the end a but more next time. Maybe some onion powder or garlic powder or smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaybaby527

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roger C
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Great receipt! I did cut into strips, for steak fingers. Mixed ingredients together then put into a large freezer bag. Put in two at a time and shake to coat, then into butter milk and back into bag to coat again. Let stand on plate until coating is kind of dry. Then cook. Very good flavor and really crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roger C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
I've eaten chicken fried steak since I was a boy, this one is by far the best I've had. Make sure you season everything to taste. Flour mix, egg wash and meat. Very good. Gravy was a very nice touch as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
My husband keeps begging for this recipe. I never change a thing it's perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
This was a really good recipe. I cut the amount of gravy down as we didn't need that much. But made to directions.....except for the buttermilk. I had to substitute...wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
It really is the best! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States