The Best Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I used this recipe for the second time in the past month. I stumbled across it looking for a better recipe than I used last year. The reason I wanted to try it was because I didn't have to use Carmel and wanted them to taste homemade. Well I hit the jackpot. It was easy and delicious. My family & friends LOVE IT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I was very impressed with how this recipe turned out! This is the first carmel apple recipe I've seen that doesnt use pre made carmel. I LOVE it. I would deffinetly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I loved this recipe! Worked flawlessly the 1st time I tried it. My kids and neighbor kids love them so much! Yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This was GREAT! Among all the recipes for caramel apples that just have you melting caramel, this was an exciting find. I tried it and had perfect caramel the first try, and a lot easier that I had anticipated. Great recipe. Didn't change a thing. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
not sure what happened, but mine burnt to the pot before it even reached 215 degrees! Had it on 4 on the stove, so slightly less than medium heat. I realized it was burning at the bottom right away so I didn't stir it further, and poured it in it's soft state into a pie plate and sprinkled with chopped nuts and grated chocolate so I can use it as an apple dip instead. A little disappointing since all the apples are ready and have the Popsicle sticks in them. :( Guess I will make candy apples for the kids with those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Perfect recipe for caramel apples! Best I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This took quite a long time to get to temperature because I was afraid to burn it. I used organic apples washed with vinegar and did not dip them in boiling water. The apples taste pretty good and the caramel stuck fine, but even better I had quite a bit of caramel left over so I poured it in a 8X8 square pan lined with parchment paper, put semi-sweet chocolate chips on it while it was still hot along with pecans and a bit of sea salt. That is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Here are some things I've learned while making these caramel apples. 1. If the caramel is not sticking properly, you need to heat caramel up again to 248. The caramel will stick perfectly until it starts to cool then the butter separates and it will not stick. It really is useful working with a candy thermometer because you can monitor the temperature closely. With one of the batches I overheated the caramel when reheating and it turned into hard toffee. 2. Placing apples in the boiling water made them seep juice, will try them without following that step the next time. I had many extra apples and kept them near a cool door, that made the caramel hard but once it was placed in a warm room they started to soften again. Definitely worth trying, flavor is far superior compared to store purchased caramels. Also, it is useful to have a helper hold dipped apples upright to cool a moment before placing on parchment otherwise you will have the hot caramel puddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cwby2nz
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I loved these! So much easier to make than I would have guessed. I made sure to drop my apples in boiling water for a bit and dry them off really well, letting them get nice and cool before i dipped them in the caramel. I think I over cooked the caramel just a tad - I did not have a candy thermometer! But I used a knife and cut slices and it was every bit as delicious and not as messy! LOL I used Karo Light Corn Syrup, but I think i would like to try it with Karo Dark syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States