The Best Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Perfect recipe for caramel apples! Best I've ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This took quite a long time to get to temperature because I was afraid to burn it. I used organic apples washed with vinegar and did not dip them in boiling water. The apples taste pretty good and the caramel stuck fine, but even better I had quite a bit of caramel left over so I poured it in a 8X8 square pan lined with parchment paper, put semi-sweet chocolate chips on it while it was still hot along with pecans and a bit of sea salt. That is really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Here are some things I've learned while making these caramel apples. 1. If the caramel is not sticking properly, you need to heat caramel up again to 248. The caramel will stick perfectly until it starts to cool then the butter separates and it will not stick. It really is useful working with a candy thermometer because you can monitor the temperature closely. With one of the batches I overheated the caramel when reheating and it turned into hard toffee. 2. Placing apples in the boiling water made them seep juice, will try them without following that step the next time. I had many extra apples and kept them near a cool door, that made the caramel hard but once it was placed in a warm room they started to soften again. Definitely worth trying, flavor is far superior compared to store purchased caramels. Also, it is useful to have a helper hold dipped apples upright to cool a moment before placing on parchment otherwise you will have the hot caramel puddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cwby2nz
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
I loved these! So much easier to make than I would have guessed. I made sure to drop my apples in boiling water for a bit and dry them off really well, letting them get nice and cool before i dipped them in the caramel. I think I over cooked the caramel just a tad - I did not have a candy thermometer! But I used a knife and cut slices and it was every bit as delicious and not as messy! LOL I used Karo Light Corn Syrup, but I think i would like to try it with Karo Dark syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cwby2nz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Lunas, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by Sarah Waltrip
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
The caramel recipe alone gets five stars! It was fun to make and tasted delicious!! My friend took a bite and said "you didn't just melt squares to make these- this is REAL caramel, isn't it!" The caramel came off the apple when we ate them but it was so good. I sprinkled my finished product with kosher salt and they are the best I've ever had. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Waltrip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Yum-o! So good, followed everything except (I know, I hate when people do this) I didn't dip apples in boiling water and I didn't have sweetened condensed milk. I subbed 1/4 cup 2% milk and it worked beautifully on the apples. Will definitely use again, I would have given it a 5 but I didn't follow everything as listed, so I can't really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hazel
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
it is the best recipe ever!!! just finished making them and they look fantastic.... thanks for the tip in step #3, I didn't have a candy thermometer so I just kept cheking my caramel by dropping a bit in cold water and sure enough, when the ball formed, I turned it off and it was done, I also didn't have vanilla extract on hand so I left it out and it still has an amazing taste... can't wait to try it next time with the vanilla extract and the different topping variations, thanks!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cheryl King
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Sorry but the caramel slid right off the apples. I even took it off right as it reached 120 degrees C. Picture shows the best we got. You can see how the thick caramel pooled at the bottom. The opposite side of the apples is completly not covered with any caramel at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I followed the recipe to the T , but this carmel "sauce" wouldn't stick to the apple even the ones I dipped in hot water to take the wax off of. A candy thermometer was used with this recipe that turned out to tasting great, just not a good one to cover apples. It's great for an ice cream topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Crème Caramel

See how to make a fancy flan that’s creamy, sweet, and easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States