The Best Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Yes, I made some changes but basically stuck to the recipe. I used a can of kidney beans and a can of pinto beans and rinsed them first. This soup is delicious. The mustard and lemon juice gives it a flavor that is different than any other soup that I've tried. Nice and robust... tangy even. I added two cubed red potatoes and used some chopped red bell pepper. I couldn't get enough of this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DR in TX

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I stuck to the recipe and the broth of this soup is Amazing! The only reason I gave it a four was I would next time put some of the veggies in a little later so they have some texture left or not cook as long. Also the bean mixture I had was mixed with split peas and I think that next time I'll try with only whole beans. I did use left over ham but it was honey cured and I think I would prefer not having the sweetness and no spiral cut next time, I'd rather have chunks. The long time of cooking just melted most things too much together. This takes a lot of time but with the right beans and ham this would be a 5!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
By far the best bean soup EVER! Remembering bland, disgusting bean soup as a child? This bean soup has flavor and a must try! You will be happy you did and so will everyone else you share it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Reduced the quantities to fit my pot. Made ham stock the day before like another reviewer mentioned to be able to skim off some fat. Did not add the vegetable juice or lemon juice, used Rotel tomatoes, half the chili powder, mustard, and Worcestershire. Used 3 cans of beans as another short cut. Added the veggies during the last hour of simmering as other reviewers recommended. Really liked the flavors and the mix of veggies with ham and beans. Cooked the soup about 2 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this soup according to the recipe, with my ham bone. we thought it tasted like a "chili wanna be". It has a tomato base and tasted like chili, except for the ham. We didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Simple and delicious. Only thing l did different was add potatoes. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
Wow! This is amazing. It is a perfect blend of spices, broth and vegetable juice. Given that, I would imagine that you could add any combination of meats and vegetables. I threw in some wild pheasant and wild duck and it tasted just great. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Maybe I did something wrong, but it tastes like vinegar soup. With so many great reviews, I hoped it would be a new favorite in my house, we love every ingredient in the list, but the end result was a huge pot of soup we can't eat. I hate to waste food, but I don't know how to make it edible. It leaves a weird taste in your mouth, very sour. The only thing I did different from the recipe was use broth made from the ham bone the day before instead of chicken broth, but the broth tastes good on its own, so it's not the broth that's sour? Bummer. First time I've been seriously disappointed in an allrecipes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I am letting this recipe simmer now. I had to write because you should not use kosher salt with any pork / ham products. kosher means it has been blessed by a rabbi and is considered clean in tradition with Jewish law. Please substitute sea salt .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Really loved this soup! Delicious broth! Use a real large pot, make some fresh bread too and invite your friends over. I thought there might be too many carrots but there were not. I am going to make another batch and can it. Thank you BenevolentEmpress for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States