The Best Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I made this easy recipe and my husband loved it! I did add chicken broth throughout the day, using my judgement as to how much to add each time. I cooked the soup for 8 hours only. I cut back on the kosher salt to half suggested amount. You may also want to cut back a little on the Dijon mustard. I'll definitely make this again. Lindasue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RosieC
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Really, really good! I followed the recipe pretty closely. Did not add the can of diced tomatoes for fear it would be too tomatoey. I simmered the beans alone for a half hour before adding the veggies and dry spices. I avoided adding anything that would have salt in it because I was worried about the beans not cooking. Did not add vegetable broth because I figured the veggies would make their own broth. After about 4 hours, the beans were nice and soft, so I added everything else. My ham had a glaze so I added that liquid as well. Loved the tang that comes from the chili powder and lemon juice. Healthy comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Very good - made some modifications due to slow cooker versus stovetop. Added baby bella mushrooms, forgot to add lemon juice (try next time), skip the extra salt, used 2C vegetable and 3C chicken stock instead of what was called for and used a slow cooker for 8.5hrs after soaking and boiling the beans as instructed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I was skeptical because the recipe takes some planning. I wanted to make it one day, but didn't realize the beans had to be soaked the night before. However, the soup was absolutely delicious and everyone in my family, including my 11-year-old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamiethelibrarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
So, I suppose I shouldn't be rating this just yet as it's currently on the stove. At any rate, I made this years back as written and was less than impressed. It tasted like straight up chili, only it wasn't chili so it was just strange. Ff a few years and I'm giving it another go because it really SEEMS like something I'd like, a lot. This time I've used all of the flavorants except for the chili powder. Left it out completely. I may sub in some hungarian paprika later but I'm not sure. I'll review again after it's all done. Oh, I also just used water instead of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany Crotts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Great recipe! I throw in a shredded cabbage as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel Tomczyk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Enjoyable & will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Crooked River Ranch, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
FANTASTIC!! I live in a home filled with males, whom detests any type of soup! However, I was wanting bean soup and since I do the cooking, we had bean soup. This is by far the BEST soup we have ever had!! ALL the boys / men in the house asked for seconds and no one complained with the leftovers the next day. It was actually said the soup tasted better the second day!! I did cut back on the broth to make a "less soup" effect and used Italian sausage because I didn't have any ham or ham bone. This is definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
This had a wonderful flavor. I made this pretty much as written, but did try a couple of the suggestions other reviewers had made. I did add 1 tbsp baking soda to the beans when cooking them for 30 minutes. Be aware that this caused the beans to cook down really fast and I pretty much ended up with a pot of bean puree. I couldn't drain the cooking water off as the recipe calls for because they were so thick! The overall flavor was wonderful, spices were a perfect, and the soup ended up very thick and hearty. I cooked my ham bone separately, skimmed off the fat and used that broth instead of the chicken broth. I also eventually added a couple of cans of beans to go with my "puree", and next time I may try it again without adding the baking soda to see how that turns out. I was able to freeze the extras up and look forward to having this frequently in future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Very good the best I've had. I modified the dish by using nine cups of chicken broth through out the day and 1 1/2 T. Of gumbo file as a flavor enhancement and thickening agent. The result was more consistent with a strew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States