The Best Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Maybe I did something wrong, but it tastes like vinegar soup. ?? With so many great reviews, I hoped it would be a new favorite in my house, we love every ingredient in the list, but the end result was a huge pot of soup we can't eat. I hate to waste food, but I don't know how to make it edible. It leaves a weird taste in your mouth, very sour. The only thing I did different from the recipe was use broth made from the ham bone the day before instead of chicken broth, but the broth tastes good on its own, so it's not the broth that's sour? Bummer. First time I've been seriously disappointed in an allrecipes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I am letting this recipe simmer now. I had to write because you should not use kosher salt with any pork / ham products. kosher means it has been blessed by a rabbi and is considered clean in tradition with Jewish law. Please substitute sea salt .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
Really loved this soup! Delicious broth! Use a real large pot, make some fresh bread too and invite your friends over. I thought there might be too many carrots but there were not. I am going to make another batch and can it. Thank you BenevolentEmpress for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
WOW just as the name implied THE BEST - I was skeptical about the Dijon, Worcestershire Sauce and V-8 combo but 30 min. after this mixture got going in the crock pot the aroma was fantastic, you could even smell it outside ! I followed the recipe with the exception of the Chicken broth (3 cups) and Veggie broth (2 cups) as mentioned in one of the reviews for use with a slow cooker. I used my left over Honey Baked ham and as there wasn't a whole lot of meat on it, I added some sliced Linguisa I had on hand. I cooked it on high for 10 hours and didn't add the Linguisa till hour 9. This soup was incredible I look forward to making it often. Next time I will add an additional cup of chicken broth and will keep the sausage as well as the ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
This was a wonderful hearty soup. The flavors reminded me of my mother's lentil soup growing up. More of a vegetable base than a creamy base. I think I will try lentils instead of the bean mix next time. Definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
I tried this recipe for the first time. I don't usually serve something I haven't made before to company, but I did today. We all agreed it was very tasty, but the company just kept saying, ummm, a few minutes later, ummm. It was perfect for today because it's really cold and snowy outside. The only addition I made to the recipe was to add garlic. I had no vegetable broth, so I just used my own homemade chicken stock for both the vegetable and chicken stock. I DID do some things differently as far as how the ingredients were added. I though that cooking all the veggies from the beginning and for so long a time would result in mushy veggies. So, in order to flavor the beans, I sacrificed one stalk of celery and a carrot at the beginning and added the rest about 45 minutes before the end of the cooking time, which, by the way, did not take 8 hours. I think it was around 3-4 hours. I had soaked my beans for about a day and a half. We live at a high elevation and you just can't use shortcut methods up here. When I finished cooking the soup yesterday I have to admit that I wasn't thrilled with the taste. However, after sitting in the fridge all night, it was wonderful today! We like things spicy, but this was just the right amount of chili powder. It wasn't overwhelming. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Didn't change anything. Excellent as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy E
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
My husband said this was the best soup I have ever made. I followed the recipe except I used 1 quart veggie broth & 1 quart chicken broth. It was DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I have been making soup for 30 plus years and this is, by far. the best I have ever made. As others, I soaked the beans overnight. I omitted the chili powder (personal choice)--cannot understand why its not a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States