The Best Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This is a excellent recipe for banana puddings. I am dieting right now, and I wanted to see what this would taste like with lowfat ingredients, so this is what I did. I used lowfat sweet condensed milk and vanilla wafers. I used 1% milk and lite vanilla wafers. The recipe calls for 14 banana's, but I think that was too many unless you really like bananas. I used only 9 or ten. Also the recipe call for a 12 ounce container of whipped topping. I didn't find the 12, it was 10oz or 16oz, so I used the 16oz. It made the pudding mixture more creamy. And one last thing, you don't need a 16oz box of vanilla wafers, the 12oz box worked great for me. I used a 13x9 baking glass dish and it turned out great. I hope my review helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIKOT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This one is a keeper!! The only thing that I did differently is that I used the cook 'n serve pudding and let it cool. This was much creamier than the instant pudding, which my family does not like. I suggest you try the cook 'n serve pudding and you will agree, it makes the recipe taste even better!!! THANKS FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
626 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
My husband's favorite dessert is banana pudding, but I didn't make it often because it was so time-consuming. But this recipe is the greatest!!! I have made this at least three times in the past month. The only change I made was to decrease the whipped topping to 8 ounces in order to taste the pudding flavor more. My glass bowl isn't as big I guess because I use only about 3 to 5 bananas and I don't measure the wafers - just layer any amount!!! I also have enough to make a small bowl and send home with my 2 granddaugters I care for - they LOVE this banana pudding too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
422 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
YUM! I cut the recipe in half & used 4 bananas, which was plenty. Next time I will crumble the wafers into a crust as a previous reviewer suggested. Eat this quick, the bananas start to turn brown the next day. Thank you Kenneth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This recipe is best chilled 24 hours covered in the fridge before serving, try using 16 oz. of whipped topping instead of 12 it stretches it a little and makes it a little less sweet. Try 2 packages of the darkest waffers you can find. Build 3 layers as waffers, bananas, pudding, repeat. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Very good, especially on a warm summery day! However, after reading some of the other reviews on it being a little on the sweet side, I decreased the cool whip to half and added plain whipped cream to make up the difference. Then, I decreased the condensed milk to half a can- I thought it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Great Recipe! I was tasting as I went and as other reviewers said, it was WAY too sweet so I only added half of the sweetened condensed milk. After I added the whipped topping and layered it with the vanilla wafers and bananas, it was awesome. My husband told me to rate this a 5 and my 3 year old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
YUM!! My DH, who is a banana pudding snob, never eats it unless it is the cooked kind. Even he had to admit that this was better. I think 14 bananas must be a typo, who has a bowl that big? I used 4 bananas and all 4 of my kids wanted to know when I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
This was the best! I layered in a glass casserole dish and topped with whipped topping. Also to get a more of a pie crust bottom crumble the wafers and mix with a little butter, bake and cool before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
YUM! YUM! This was a hit for our Easter dinner. I may replace the vanilla pudding for banana next time so it will be extra banana-ish! My guests are already wanting the recipe and it's definitely worth passing on. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 403) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States