The Best Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Everyone who tastes this says to me "this is the best Banana Pudding I've EVER had!" If you are making it for a huge crowd, multiply the recipe by 5 and use one of the extra large aluminum pans. It fits perfect. I will say that the recipe calls for A LOT more bananas than I think it needs. I use about half, and it still has a ton in every bite. I also drizzle just a few drops of milk over each layer of wafers, to keep them from being so crunchy. It makes the wafer layer a little more cakey. So delicious! And one last thing, I use about 75% of the amount of cool whip that is calls for, otherwise it looses too much of the flavor of the pudding. Those are my suggestions for this recipe, but of course, it would be great even if you made no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Tried this last night and loved it! Made it for a family gathering and a few people were already in line for seconds after their first bite. I used French vanilla pudding, regular cool whip and the whole can of condensed milk. It was not nearly as sweet as I was expecting from the other reviews. I'm glad I used it all. (I can't stand "sickeningly sweet" desserts, so I was a little afraid of using it all, but it wasn't that sweet at all.) We are at a vacation rental and they don't have spices, etc around here, and I didn't want to buy a bottle of vanilla for just a small amount, so I omitted it, and it was still excellent. I used a 9x13 pan and 6 bananas. Would have liked more bananas, but couldn't fit them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
this recipe was great and so easy to make. i only used 6 bananas instead of 14, way too many for me. i will be passing this recipe to all my friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
This is basically the recipe I have used for years. I prefer to use fresh whipped cream, however, instead of cool whip. Also, I can't imagine using 14 bananas. I think I use 6 at the most. And, the more cookies the better! Always come home with an empty bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Zimmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This is an old recipe from back in the 90's. I needed a refresher as it's been a long time since I made this. One thing the old recipe called for was cutting up the bananas before you started the custard/pudding prep. Once finished with the bananas, you sprinkle lemon juice over them to keep them from turning brown and eventually black and then pour them through a strainer to drain off any excess juice before layering them. I didn't use the instant pudding, I used the regular cook pudding 2 packages and only a 1/4 of condensed milk. It was still sweet but not as sweet had I used the whole can. I used 8 Bananas 2 boxes of the ORIGINAL Vanilla Wafers. Don't use off brand or you'll be sorry LOL... One package of whipped cream. As I type this, the banana pudding is being devoured by my son! He just came in from work and bypassed dinner for this. I made this for my pregnant daughter who is craving it but has not arrived yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
My husband really loves this recipe... I did add the cream cheese and cut the whipped cream back a bit.... It was so easy... I had an epic fail on my first attempt at banana pudding... Try this recipe.... I will be bringing this to future cookouts and family gatherings....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This is awesome, but I use banana cream pudding and my husband raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Yummy! I also used the whole box of vanilla wafers AND I added a layer of whip cream on top. Not too sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Wonderful. I thought the sweetened condensed milk would make it too sweet, but it was just right. Served it at a family get together, it was a hit. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Best EVER! Rave Reviews!! I can make banana pudding, but I wanted to try a recipe for once. I made this exactly as called for. My powder pudding box was a bit off, but I made it according to package directions. I can't remember how many bananas I used - it was basically personal preference more then anything. My mom raved about how good it was and I thought it was the BOMB! This is now my go to recipe for banana pudding. I didn't have sweetened condensed milk, but I did have the Hispanic equivalent Dulce de Leche. It worked fine and like I said, this is now my go to recipe for banana pudding. AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States