The Best Banana Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This is a excellent recipe for banana puddings. I am dieting right now, and I wanted to see what this would taste like with lowfat ingredients, so this is what I did. I used lowfat sweet condensed milk and vanilla wafers. I used 1% milk and lite vanilla wafers. The recipe calls for 14 banana's, but I think that was too many unless you really like bananas. I used only 9 or ten. Also the recipe call for a 12 ounce container of whipped topping. I didn't find the 12, it was 10oz or 16oz, so I used the 16oz. It made the pudding mixture more creamy. And one last thing, you don't need a 16oz box of vanilla wafers, the 12oz box worked great for me. I used a 13x9 baking glass dish and it turned out great. I hope my review helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1023 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIKOT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This one is a keeper!! The only thing that I did differently is that I used the cook 'n serve pudding and let it cool. This was much creamier than the instant pudding, which my family does not like. I suggest you try the cook 'n serve pudding and you will agree, it makes the recipe taste even better!!! THANKS FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
568 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
My husband's favorite dessert is banana pudding, but I didn't make it often because it was so time-consuming. But this recipe is the greatest!!! I have made this at least three times in the past month. The only change I made was to decrease the whipped topping to 8 ounces in order to taste the pudding flavor more. My glass bowl isn't as big I guess because I use only about 3 to 5 bananas and I don't measure the wafers - just layer any amount!!! I also have enough to make a small bowl and send home with my 2 granddaugters I care for - they LOVE this banana pudding too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
396 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
YUM! I cut the recipe in half & used 4 bananas, which was plenty. Next time I will crumble the wafers into a crust as a previous reviewer suggested. Eat this quick, the bananas start to turn brown the next day. Thank you Kenneth!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This recipe is best chilled 24 hours covered in the fridge before serving, try using 16 oz. of whipped topping instead of 12 it stretches it a little and makes it a little less sweet. Try 2 packages of the darkest waffers you can find. Build 3 layers as waffers, bananas, pudding, repeat. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
Very good, especially on a warm summery day! However, after reading some of the other reviews on it being a little on the sweet side, I decreased the cool whip to half and added plain whipped cream to make up the difference. Then, I decreased the condensed milk to half a can- I thought it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2003
Great Recipe! I was tasting as I went and as other reviewers said, it was WAY too sweet so I only added half of the sweetened condensed milk. After I added the whipped topping and layered it with the vanilla wafers and bananas, it was awesome. My husband told me to rate this a 5 and my 3 year old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
YUM!! My DH, who is a banana pudding snob, never eats it unless it is the cooked kind. Even he had to admit that this was better. I think 14 bananas must be a typo, who has a bowl that big? I used 4 bananas and all 4 of my kids wanted to know when I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
This was the best! I layered in a glass casserole dish and topped with whipped topping. Also to get a more of a pie crust bottom crumble the wafers and mix with a little butter, bake and cool before layering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
YUM! YUM! This was a hit for our Easter dinner. I may replace the vanilla pudding for banana next time so it will be extra banana-ish! My guests are already wanting the recipe and it's definitely worth passing on. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Lynne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Banana Pudding IV

See how to make a luscious and creamy no-bake dessert!

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States