The Best Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
I reviewed this recipe almost a year ago but I made some interesting changes and just had to share it with everyone on this site! I used the 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/4 tsp. salt and plenty of cinnamon and nutmeg as before. However, I am always interested in making recipes healthier so instead of margarine, oil or butter I used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. I often buy applesauce in those little single serving cups and one container is exactly 1/2 cup. Perfect for baking since you don't have to open a whole jar of applesauce. I added chopped walnuts as before but I was out of vanilla, so I tossed in about a Tbsp of dark rum. Wow!! That is the secret to butt-kicking banana bread!! Use good quality rum, such as Puerto Rican or Dominican rum. A good rule of thumb is..if you wouldn't drink it, don't cook with it! Same goes for wine. I cannot stop eating this bread and now I don't feel guilty because it's low in fat if you use the applesauce instead of oil or butter. I really hope someone reads this review and tries the rum version I have come up with. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1889 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was exactly what I was looking for! I had 3 overripe bananas that I was getting ready to throw out, instead the light bulb went off to look on Allrecipes for an easy banana bread recipe. I chose this one based on the reviews and the simplicity of the ingredients. The only slight changes I made was I used butter instead of margarine, switched the white sugar to half white and half brown, and cut back the flour to 1 1/2 cups instead of 2. I also threw in 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract and a dash of cinnamon. It turned out perfect in 45 min. (an hour would have dried the bread out) and it is dense and moist like banana bread should be! Thanks Libby, I will probably make this weekly with my leftover bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
886 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I've never made a really good banana bread until I tried this recipe this morning. I did modify some things--used real butter, half white and half brown sugar, added 1 tbs cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, and a dash of salt. I didn't measure the bananas, but used the four I had on hand that were mostly black on the outside, soft and sweet on the inside. Sprinkled the top with sliced almonds, since it's what I had on hand. It baked up beautifully in exactly one hour. What a great Sunday breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
481 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I HAVE BEEN USING THIS RECIPE FOR MANY YEARS.NEVER MEASURED THE BANANAS,USED4-5 MED.ONES AND USED ONE TSP.OF SALT.PERSONAL PREFERENCE REALLY.DEPENDING ON YOUR STOVE,IT MAY TAKE MORE THAN AN HOUR.IF IT APPEARS RAW IN THE MIDDLE AFTER THE TOOTHPICK TEST;COVER THE TOP WITH FOIL WRAP,SHINY SIDE DOWN.THIS GIVES THE MIDDLE A CHANCE TO CATCH UP.WARM OR COLD,BEST BANANA BREAD EVER WITH NO FUSS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I have made this recipe a bunch of times now. My husband loves it, but I add walnuts for him. It is so easy and tastes great! I make muffins out of mine and bake for 35 minutes instead of 1 hour. Making muffins cuts the baking time down. I want to add that I now make this with 1 cup flour and 1 cup oatmeal. It is less dense and more moist this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie
Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOXFIRE2
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
The recipe is good, it's me baking the banana bread that is a work in progress! I have asked members for tips that really helped: don't over mix, lower rack so that top of bread is halfway point in oven, my loaf dish is glass so lower temperature in my oven to 325 degrees and tent with foil if the top of loaf is getting too dark. I did as others suggested modifying the recipe and used half cup white sugar/half cup brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFIRE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I was worried about how this was going to turn out because I'm not the very best cook! I was shocked with the results because I actually made something that tasted very delicious!!! I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also sprinkled walnuts on the top. The picture does not do it justice this is an amazing bread! I've made it 3 times this month- it's THAT good! It was the biggest hit at a potluck party and it was all gone. This recipe deserves 10 stars!!! Try it and you too will fall in love with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Very good banana bread! Added about a tbls of some wonderful Mexican vanilla I have and a pinch of salt...My mom always says to use salt and baking soda together to assure an even rise. Also used butter...don't care for margarine! Used three large ripe bananas...don't like measuring! Took about 1 1/2 hours at 350. YUM! Making a second batch now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2000
This bread was ok, but my husband says my recipe is better. Not as much flavor and this one is alittle on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
My rating for kids is low because I don't have any children right now. So I don't know how easy it is for a kid to make. However, I like the way that it bakes up. I am taking some with me for my sister-in-laws wedding brunch. It's that good. Thank you Libby for sharing this receipe with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 956) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States