The Best Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This recipe was alright, a tad on the dry side but still tasty, the only change I made was to use 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 regular sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBadSeed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by re
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I added 1/4 of milk mix was pretty thick. I also added extra bananas and mini Choco chips! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
love this banana bread truly lives up to its name
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I used half white and half brown sugar. I added 1 cup of chocolate chips as well. I also made muffins. Baked for 25 minutes, 10 on bottom rack and 15 on top rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I've made this several times and it's a great recipe. I even use it with plantain. Using plantain or with bananas which are still a bit firm, I saute them in butter until soft enough to mash. Plantain tends to be a little more fibrous than banana, so it makes a few fruit chunks in the loaf, which for me is all to the good. I also add a teaspoon of vanilla, sometimes some cinnamon or nutmeg. I like to add chopped nuts, but they are so expensive here on the island that I don't bother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
Dry, tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
I haven't rated it yet but, it's in the oven. Seems to be a very dense dough. Smells yummy though! I followed some suggestions added 4 bananas, splash of rum splash of vanilla splash of black walnut extracts. 1 3/4 cups flour....can't wait to eat it! I'll let everyone know how it turns out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
I used 1 cup of flour and 1/2 cup of Malt-O-Meal which is the same as Cream of Wheat. I also ran out of bananas. I thought I had 3 but only had 2. My mashed bananas equalled 1 cup so I mashed up 1/2 cup of canned peaches (2 snack cups). I was also a tad short of margarine and made up the difference (about 1/8 cup) of apple sauce. I threw in 1/2 teaspoon of baking spice and another 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon plus 1 teaspoon of vanilla. I baked the bread on the lowest rack for one hour. Well, I thought this bread was going to be a disaster. It turned out perfectly. It is moist and dense. The banana and peaches really compliment each other. Great recipe. I can't believe how so many substitutions can result in such a wonderful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
It was easy to make and turned out great and was moist. Also I added chocolate chips which made it taste a lot better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I only had two ripe bananas so threw in a big spoon of chunky applesauce, with some walnuts and put a little salt in as well. I used real butter, unsalted. It is a basic recipe which I like. Few ingredients making it fast and easy. I can add choco chips, or whatever I want to it and make it different every time. Liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 946) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States