The Attention-Hungry Turkey of Moistness Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
Coming from a family (not of cooks)it's amazing I even know what a measuring cup is. So you can imagine my familys delite when I used this recipe and they could actually chew and swallow their food. Thanks Much, mojo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Fertile, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Great recipe! There is nothing wrong with opening the oven to baste as often as you like. As long as it cooks to the correct temp and long enough it is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
You CAN slow cook a turkey at 240 degrees without any problems. I cook at a resturant and we use an Altosham cook and hold oven. I agree that opening the oven first doesn't give a consistant temperature, second wastes energy to reheat the oven, but if the bird reaches 175 to 180 degrees internal temp it doesn't matter how the bird is cooked. Cook and hold ovens that resturants use to cook turkey, prime rib stuff like that cook for longer periods of time at much lower temps. Most cook and hold ovens only go to 250. As an example it will take me 10 hours of cooking at 240 for a 25lb turkey. The oven then goes into a hold cycle of 160 degrees. The minimum hold time is 3 hours with a max hold time of 10 hours. So it could take 12-14 hours to fully cook a 25lb turkey. This is the way resturants are able to make turkey juicy. Lower temps/longer cooking = juicy! This can be done in a conventional oven as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
I used this recipe and my entire family loved it. I am now asked to bring the turkey at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I do my turkey very simular to this, but to save myself a lot of basting I mix some unmelted butter with some salt and pepper and lift the turkey skin by slipping my hands underneath and over the breast and pack the butter mix in underneath the skin so that it cooks into the turkey instead of running off. I then just secure the skin back down over the turkey with a couple of toothpicks. It still gives that crisp, golden brown coloring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by diamar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Too much work for too little return. Tried this a couple of weeks ago and wasnt any more moist. Tenting the turkey and basting a couple of times, or cooking it breast side down will give the same results and frustrate the cook less and take less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GracieLou
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Just made this turkey again today for Thanksgiving. It is the second time I used this recipe. What I did differently was I added half the amount of butter initially, and then rubbed more on with a rubber spatula the first few times I basted until the stick was gone. I must say, basting every ten minutes is too much. By the time your oven reheats itself, you're opening it again to baste. Such a waste of energy and time. I was basting every 20 minutes to a half hour, making sure I doused every inch of the turkey. It was super delicious and really juicy. The juices seeped off of my cutting board and onto the floor lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I followed the advice of another reviewer and stuffed butter under the skin. I've never had such most turkey. I only had to baste it every half hour or so. I also added garlic powder to the salt and pepper and rubbed it in well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States