The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2003
These are so great! I made a batch for dinner and my family just loved them. Thanks Kari!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Yowza is right Kari! These were incredible to say the least. I don't normally eat red meat merely because I don't really care for it, however, there's always an exception to every rule and this was it! I've spent many years looking for the perfect S.M. recipe and my search has finally ended. I did make a couple of changes to suit out tastes. To the meat mixture I added more seasonings; garlic and onion powders, etc. After the meatballs were cooked in the oven, I took them out of the casserole dish and placed them on a separate plate. I added beef broth (not water) to the casserole dish and cooked on a low flame in order to loosen the browned bits from the bottom. I then used that to make the sauce. No matter what any recipe calls for, I always double the amount of liquid. In this case I added two cans of low salt cream of mushroom soup. Again Kari, I'm totally impressed with your wonderful recipe and so were my hubby and kids. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Everyone I have served this to has loved it. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Very tasty! I used a lot of garlic as we are crazy about garlic! My only concern was that the meat balls oozed a nasty-looking goo during the baking process. Maybe it was fat from the ground pork? It didn't ruin the recipe but it did look a little unappetizing... I scraped it off before simmering the meat balls with my marinara sauce. Great recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2003
This was an excellent recipe, but I was horrified when I read the nutritional information. I made a couple changes to make it less fattening - I used lean groud turkey instead of the beef and pork, and I also used skim milk. The only other changes I made was that I added fresh garlic and other spices. It was delicious! I used a different sauce which consisted of 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 cup of reduced fat sour cream, skim milk, pepper, Worcestershire sauce, and hot sauce. The recipe was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
My husband is the pickiest eater and loved them. I did use onion powder in place of the chopped onions. I also used olive oil instead of veg oil for the sauce. The sauce did not taste good alone , but when mixed with the meatballs was very good. I will make this again very soon. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
Wanna make it fluffier? Use only 1/2 lb of beef! Wanna make it faster? Coat the bottom of a covered skillet or sauteuse (if you want more sauce) with the oil. Sear the meatballs, cooking and lightly browning the outside. Remove the meatballs and then add the flour, whisking continuously (like making white sauce). Then add the water to which you have added the paprika and the salt & pepper to taste. Mix well. Return the meatballs to the pan and cover. Simmer until done. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
This recipie has become one of our families fav's. My husband often asks these for sunday dinner. easy to prepare and are absolutly awesome. Thank you so much for sharing the recipie with us all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2004
I used all pork for the meatballs and in addition to the regular recipe for the sauce I added 1 can undiluted mushroom soup just so that I had lots of sauce to cover the meatballs in my casserole dish ( I browned the meatballs in my teflon frying pan first then transferred them to simmer in a casserole on a very low oven for a couple of hours). Nice savoury flavour without being spicy that should appeal to a lot of adults and kids, will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
This recie is fantastic I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States