The Amazing Swedish Meatball Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
The meatballs were good but I did not care for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I was looking for a recipe for Christmas Eve and came across this one. If you authentic SM, don't use hot sauce or garlic or mushrooms. The spice the Swedish use besides salt and pepper is allspice. Butter is the correct fat and the flavor from the sauce is from the browned meatballs. If needed, use a little beef broth. This info comes from my brother-in-law directly from Sweden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
I use a different sauce but this recipe is very much like my grandmother's, she's Norwegian. I make these meatballs to go with our ham at Christmas and everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Icequeen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Liskeard, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are just ok ,but really not Swedish meatballs without the addition of allspice ,I think that's what was missing here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used turkey instead of beef/pork and everything went well except they needed less time in the oven. My only real concern here is the 'sauce', it has absolutely no flavor! I needed to add one can of Campbell's Mushroom cream soup as well as one can of Campbells Chicken cream soup for flavor/texture. Otherwise, a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cdelemos

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LiL Latin Flare
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I'm not going to lie - the sauce wasn't that great. I needed a sauce mix because I messed up my McCormic packet (accidentally cut it wrong and put everything in the meatball mixture- that I actually really do recommend by the way, lol). Anyway, I used maybe a pinch of salt because there was no WAY I was going to put that much into it.. The flavor came close but it was missing something, and unfortunately I'm not sure what. The consistency, etc was all great, it was just very mild. I'm going to try it again with some of the previous suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This recipe was awesome, but waay too salty. Definitely going to to cut the salt in half for next time so it's more edible. I replaced the water with 2 cups of beef stock and added 8 oz of sour cream AND a can of cream of mushroom soup. It really would've been fantastic with less salt. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Cut the salt for the meatballs in half (from 2 tsp to 1 tsp), and we didn't care for the sauce for the meatballs until we added a packet of dry mushroom flavored gravy. Then it was delicious. Meatballs were a bit on the spicy side, and not very firm because of the addition of ground pork to the ground beef. I'll probably make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
meatballs were delish. After reading reviews about sauce I just added can of mushroom sauce, no flour 1/2 cup broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I agree with previous posters: the meatballs themselves were great, the sauce was a little bland. I replaced the parsley in the meatballs with fresh cilantro, and it provided a nice kick. I put about a tablespoon of instant coffee mix into the sauce with the paprika, salt, and pepper. Then, when adding the boiling water, I threw in two beef bouillon cubes. Used a full cup of sour cream instead of 3/4 of a cup, per the instructions. The drippings from the meatballs do the rest. Good cooking, everybody!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Swedish Meatballs

See how to make amazing Swedish meatballs in a savory sauce.

Swedish Meatballs I

See how to make easy, twice-baked Swedish meatballs in a creamy sauce.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States