That's-a Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
In response to gabbysmom, if you cooked the meatloaf at 350F for 75 minutes, the ground beef probably wasn't raw. Most likely, the meat was pink from the nitrates (or nitrites) in the cooked ham tranfering to the hamburger. This has happened to me when I have made this recipe; but if you check a cross-section, I think you will find that the flavor and texture are fine. That is why ham is pink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
The meat ended up being raw near the ham .... I would try cooking the meatloaf without the ham/chs mixture & adding it at the end when all cooked??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
I'd given up on finding a meatloaf we all liked..This one everyone raves about, they actually ask for meatloaf now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
Very disappointing! Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This is one of my favorite recipes; have used it for years and everyone compliments me when I serve it. Just wanted to say that it is best to leave an inch around the edges of the meat and put the rectangle of hamburger on a larger sheet of foil and use it to roll the loaf into a cylinder. Be sure to press the ends together well to prevent cheese from oozing out, as well as the long seam. I usually bake in a broiler pan on the foil, punching some holes in the foil so the fat can drip down. Can melt mozzarella cheese wedges on top the last 5 minutes of baking time. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Absolutely wonderful!! A hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I made this for a church dinner, and now I have several requests for it every time we have a church function involving food. I do use spaghetti sauce and cheese triangle on the top when it is cooked to make an attractive presentation. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Pretty good. It's hard to roll up- I advise just layering the ham & cheese in the middle of the loaf. I used bread crumbs instead of crumbling bread & poured the rest of the tomato sauce on top.(left over from 8 oz can) I also used shredded mozz since I had that. Personally, I like the Sweet & Sour Meatloaf & Amish Meatloaf.(both from this site)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This was a great meatloaf. However, I added a chopped onion for extra flavour and shaved Parmesan cheese. A real keeper for our cold Australian Winter (it is June)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
Every year on or around Valentines Day, I make a heart shaped meatloaf and spell "I luv you" on top of the loaf with raw onions. This is a tradition my kids have enjoyed since they were toddlers. This recipe was a little different and very tasty. I used ground turkey and obviously didn't roll it up, but split the meat in half and placed the filling on the bottom, topped with the other half and then shaped into my heart. The kids really enjoyed it. Thanks Dana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mini Meatloaves

Individual loaves of yummy beef, cheese, and oats are baked with a tangy glaze.

Chef John's Prison-Style Meatloaf

This incredibly moist, tender meatloaf is based on Italian meatball technology.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States