That Addicting Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Four stars because of the high fat content, but I have been making this salad for years. It is always a huge hit. NEVER use fake bacon, or fake anything when you are in the kitchen. I do this as a layer salad. Building from bottom to top, it goes, lettuce, carrot, broccoli, cauliflower, bacon. Smear dressing mixture over top and SEAL in the salad ingredients with the dressing from edge to edge. Now refrigerate overnight. Just prior to serving, toss salad. Your veggies will be nice and crisp and fresh and the dressing will have developed properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Well, I thought that I knew better than the author and served this salad in less than 1 hour. No raves, but good. Then the next evening I served the remainder of it, and YOU ARE RIGHT - it takes a night in the fridge and it's perfect. Magic.. my parents loved it. My kids tolerated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
My family loves this recipe. As another reviewer mentioned, it originally came from a MN restaurant. They served it tableside just adding the dressing before serving. The dressing definately must be refrigerated to blend the flavors which in the original recipe included 1 tbsp. apple cider vinegar. I do add 1/2 cup shredded parmesan and some shredded colby-monteray jack blend to the veggie mix. I think that REAL bacon makes a difference too as my recipe calls for 1 pound crumbled. This is not a low cal, low fat recipe, but for low carb fans, it does fit if you use Splenda instead of sugar (a little less, as Splenda seems sweeter). I also do chop the brocolli and calif. somewhat small and keep the lettuce just chopped. I'm bringing this tonite to our neighborhood party, hope they like it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
While I enjoyed the flavor, I initially began by leaving out the sugar. Absolutely NO need for extra calories and unnecessary calories. I liked it a lot. However, I made it again but this time I used plain Greek yogurt instead of mayonnaise and I like it a whole lot more. It had a nice 'zing' to it. I kept the rice vinegar, a splash of apple cider vinegar, onion powder, Parmesan and I added dill weed. It is sooo good! I use it also as a vegetable dip as well as for my daily salads. It's perfect now and guilt free. Try it sans the mayo and it will be much less greasy and caloric.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
liked this but not with white sugar, added 4 tb of seasoned rice wine vinegar to it instead. did the sweet/sour thing but thinned the mayo a bit and i am not into completely sweet or thick salad dressings myself. also added 1/4tsp of penzey's toasted onion powder (killer stuff), a bit of fresh garlic and some parsley and fresh basil. could play with the herbs....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
We doubled the amount of greens and added homemade croutons and chopped hard-boiled egg. The dressing is key, I made it exactly as written. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This is a GREAT and EASY salad! I've made this a dozen times sice I first came across it last summer. It always goes down great! Never any left over. The dressing is enough for double the salad recipe for us though. I have doubled the reicpe and skipped the greens a couple of times and it went over just as well. DO LET DRESSING SIT IN FRIDGE OVERNIGHT! Rice wine vinegar works great for thinning out dressing if you like it that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
It was alright. Addicting? Well, I'm the only one who had seconds, but even I wasn't particularly thrilled. It was just alright. I thought there was way too much dressing for the amount of veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elk Grove, California, USA
Living In: Crestwood, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Wonderful “make ahead” recipe. I make the dressing and cut up the vegetables the night before. Just before serving, I mix it all together. Always double the recipe for gatherings because it’s the first thing to go. I use low fat mayo and everyone still asks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This is an excellent salad. Its always the first to go wherever I take it, even in the winter when hot dishes are preferable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Caesar Salad Supreme

Say hello to nutritious salad dressing without sacrificing taste.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Broccoli-Cauliflower Salad

See how easy it is to make this hearty, salad-bar-style salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States