Thanksgiving Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
These are really really tasty, and so darn fast! I was pretty skeptical, but the gingersnaps add just the perfect flavor. I had baked sweet potatoes on hand (1 hr 40 min @ 350 degrees), so I substituted an equal measure for the canned; I too put the warm sweet potato mixture in a serving container and then browned the (small sized) marshmallows with a quick zap under the broiler. I noticed the first time I made these that they hold their shape upon serving, which gave me the idea to use this as a super-quick easy cheater version of sweet potato pie - just put the mixture into a graham cracker crust, top with marshmallows brown. Really yummy! If you won't be serving the whole pie the same day, I suggest washing it with egg white baking (to seal out the moisture from the filling). Definitely a must-try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These yams were a big hit. There was no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was the EASIEST way to make sweet potatoes. It was quick as well. The gingersnap cookies were the perfect mix of spices as well as creating a nice base for the potatoes. I made these for my in-laws for Thanksgiving this year and they were a hit! I drained one can of the sweet potatoes and used the juice from the other (otherwise it seemed too thick). VERY VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Do you know what luxury is? Luxury is this recipe on Thanksgiving. Whether you think you like yams or not, just try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made these on the stove top as directed, then placed in a casserole with the marshmallows on top and baked them. Everyone loved them. The Ginger Snaps really add a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My new favorite Thanksgiving side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These are AHHH-MAYY-ZINGG! So yummy and extremely easy. They only thing I needed to add was half and half since they were dry and needed more moisture to thicken up. Soooo good. I love that I didn't need to put in oven since everything else needed to go in the oven. However, next time I think I will put in oven for just a bit to brown the marshmallows since I did miss that taste of the marshmallows on it. Highly recommend! Couldn't stop eating them! Impressed how much fattier they could be but with the small amount of butter it was just right and didn't feel overly bad eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Dottie's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
very simple, very easy, very delicious. Thanks for the recipe misty1549.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This needs even more stars!!!!!! EVERYONE loved this dish!!! Easy and DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I made these yams for Thanksgiving and they just about blew everyone away! Never had I taseted yams so delicious! The gingersnap cookies are the secret weapon that makes this dish kick! So different from traditional yam recipes, yet so deliciously new! I highly suggest you make these for your next holiday gathering. I recipe note though....instead of putting marshmallows in pot I transfer mixture to a baking dish, then add marshmallows and bake at 375 until mallows are melted and golden brown. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States