Thanksgiving Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2000
I made these yams for Thanksgiving and they just about blew everyone away! Never had I taseted yams so delicious! The gingersnap cookies are the secret weapon that makes this dish kick! So different from traditional yam recipes, yet so deliciously new! I highly suggest you make these for your next holiday gathering. I recipe note though....instead of putting marshmallows in pot I transfer mixture to a baking dish, then add marshmallows and bake at 375 until mallows are melted and golden brown. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
The strong gingery taste makes these really good and different from most sweet potato dishes. I thought they were a bit too sweet and would cut back on the cookies when making them again. I also put them into a baking dish and browned the marshmallows in the oven. These are very easy to make and a nice change from the traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
Do you know what luxury is? Luxury is this recipe on Thanksgiving. Whether you think you like yams or not, just try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
These are good, but didn't taste a whole lot different from the way I always make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
These are really really tasty, and so darn fast! I was pretty skeptical, but the gingersnaps add just the perfect flavor. I had baked sweet potatoes on hand (1 hr 40 min @ 350 degrees), so I substituted an equal measure for the canned; I too put the warm sweet potato mixture in a serving container and then browned the (small sized) marshmallows with a quick zap under the broiler. I noticed the first time I made these that they hold their shape upon serving, which gave me the idea to use this as a super-quick easy cheater version of sweet potato pie - just put the mixture into a graham cracker crust, top with marshmallows brown. Really yummy! If you won't be serving the whole pie the same day, I suggest washing it with egg white baking (to seal out the moisture from the filling). Definitely a must-try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
NO ONE SEEMED TO IMPRESSED
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Simple recipe that I will make again. The marshmellows really need to be broiled though to add to the flavor. Would make a great pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was the EASIEST way to make sweet potatoes. It was quick as well. The gingersnap cookies were the perfect mix of spices as well as creating a nice base for the potatoes. I made these for my in-laws for Thanksgiving this year and they were a hit! I drained one can of the sweet potatoes and used the juice from the other (otherwise it seemed too thick). VERY VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These yams were a big hit. There was no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
very good, very easy, you can crush the cookies in food processor it's soo much easier than using a glass or your hands, got many compliments this will be my yams recipe for holidays! Definitely put in a baking pan and top with marshmallows, then put under broiler for just a few minutes, watch close so they don't burn, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyss8928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States