Thanksgiving Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This year I decided to take a shortcut from my regular sweet potato casserole that I usually make, to try this quick and easy recipe - ugh! I wish I hadn't! It was sticky & pasty, too sweet, and the color is mucky orang-ish brown once the ginger snaps are crushed in; not appetizing to look at. However, the most telling of all was that NOBODY ate it. It was the only dish left on the table that was nearly untouched. Thanksgiving is tonight, I'm home now, and went first thing to the computer to write a review on this recipe. Lesson learned: 1. Don't take short cuts from a tried and true recipe. 2. Put in the labor for a made-from-scratch dish. 3. Canned yams suck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I crushed cookies in food processor. This is a sweet recipe, but the gingersnaps make it very flavorful. I also transferred into a baking dish, topped with mini marshmallows and stuck them under the broiler as other reviewers suggested, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I made these on the stove top as directed, then placed in a casserole with the marshmallows on top and baked them. Everyone loved them. The Ginger Snaps really add a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This needs even more stars!!!!!! EVERYONE loved this dish!!! Easy and DELISH!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These are AHHH-MAYY-ZINGG! So yummy and extremely easy. They only thing I needed to add was half and half since they were dry and needed more moisture to thicken up. Soooo good. I love that I didn't need to put in oven since everything else needed to go in the oven. However, next time I think I will put in oven for just a bit to brown the marshmallows since I did miss that taste of the marshmallows on it. Highly recommend! Couldn't stop eating them! Impressed how much fattier they could be but with the small amount of butter it was just right and didn't feel overly bad eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar Dottie's

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My new favorite Thanksgiving side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
very simple, very easy, very delicious. Thanks for the recipe misty1549.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
very good, very easy, you can crush the cookies in food processor it's soo much easier than using a glass or your hands, got many compliments this will be my yams recipe for holidays! Definitely put in a baking pan and top with marshmallows, then put under broiler for just a few minutes, watch close so they don't burn, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyss8928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
These yams were a big hit. There was no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody McSassypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
This was the EASIEST way to make sweet potatoes. It was quick as well. The gingersnap cookies were the perfect mix of spices as well as creating a nice base for the potatoes. I made these for my in-laws for Thanksgiving this year and they were a hit! I drained one can of the sweet potatoes and used the juice from the other (otherwise it seemed too thick). VERY VERY GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States