Thanksgiving Won Tons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I was looking for a new and different way to get rid of Thanksgiving leftovers when this caught my eye. Thought it was a bit strange but I figured why not give it a try. Surprisingly good! I even tried a variation of using leftover stuffing in place of the turkey. My only suggestion is I baked mine for 15-20 instead of frying them after tasting the first few fried ones and though they were greasy. Also try using the cranberry sauce as a dipping sauce or even gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
These were actually better than I thought they would be. I added 5 oz. of cream cheese just because we are so used to making crab wonton that way. When I tasted the filling before they were cooked, I wasn't sure if people would like them. However, after they were fried they were really good. I have tried baking and frying wonton and the taste is so much better if you take the time to fry. It's a big difference. The easiest way is to put about 1/4 inch of oil in a skillet and let them fry for a minute on each side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNJROSE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Very good, and totally weird, which is the kinda thing my friends like. I served it with extra cranberry sauce to dip in. I also had some goat cheese out and people seemed to like to pair the two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
These sounded strange, but were actually really good. I made a second batch different however. I mixed shredded turkey, cream cheese, mayo, homemade cranberry sauce, and a pinch of salt, pepper and fresh garlic together and they were even better then the original. Either way they are a must try for something unique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I was expecting these to be outstanding, and they were OK. I made them the Sunday after thanksgiving while the guys were watching football. Don't get me wrong, they got eaten, but I didn't get any rave reviews on them. I used the directed recipe and I made my own with turkey, almonds, salt n pepper,and a little bit of sour cream. I also put them all out with cranberry sauce and gravy. I definately do love the idea behind it all tho. I think I'm gonna take the ideas of it and just replace it with different fillings (like a walnut/brownsugar filling). THanks for the idea tho!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I started making these about 2 years ago for thanksgiving and christmas eve. The first time, i created about 20 for 10people, needless to say that when then next time came around i made about 70 for the same amount of people. I have recived so many compliment for this recipe, they are amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Glenview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
We made these last year for a party we had with friends the Friday after Thanksgiving. It was SO easy to make and we did not stray from the recipe. We used leftover turkey to make Turkey Wontons and we used the Cranberry Salsa recipe found on this site (the one with Grand Marnier) as the dipping sauce. We ran out of both and ended up going to the store to make more! Everyone left with the recipe... Best Friday Thanksgiving ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetPea
Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA
Living In: O Fallon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is a great way to get rid of Thanksgiving leftovers. I thought it was kinda strange but it was very good! I did change a little, I used turkey, stuffing and dipped into cranberry sauce. My only suggestion is to bake them. After frying them my house smelt funny and they were a little greasy. But I will use this the day after every Thanksgiving. Maybe I will dip in gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Beaverhousen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My favorite thanksgiving appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRILPA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I LOVE this recipe! I have brought it to the past 4 family Thanksgiving get togethers and everyone raves over them! I usually make a dipping sauce out of mae ploy (sweet chili sauce) and soy sauce. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

How to Make Turkey Chili

Make easy, hearty turkey chili with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States