Thanksgiving Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2000
Very tasty and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
I used ground turkey breast and all low-fat ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
This was great! We are very health conscious and used just egg whites which tasted great! Next time, I may add a bit of salt and pepper to the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2001
Very easy recipee, and oh, so tasty!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
My sister was the one who discovered this recipe on Allrecipes.com and made a few modifications which made the meatloaf even tastier. First, chop a large onion and mince (about) 3 cloves garlic. Coarsely chop 1 pound mushrooms (any variety you prefer) and saute along with onion and garlic until soft. Add mixture to the rest of meatloaf ingredients along with 1 teaspoon salt and freshly ground pepper to taste. Mix everything together well and set aside in the refrigerator for 2 hours for flavors to meld. It's also better to do a free-form loaf rather than baking it in a pan as it a free-form loaf browns better and allows excess fat to drain off. Follow the above modifications for an outstanding meatloaf. We served the meatloaf with the Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole (also from Allrecipes.com), grilled asparagus and baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I also used this recipe as a foundation. I chopped a whole onion, and minced 4 cloves of garlic and a medium-sized carrot - i sauteed all of these until they were fairly soft. I added this mixture to the turkey, the stuffing (i used the low sodium version), egg beaters (instead of whole eggs). I also added 2 teaspoons of mustard, as well as some freshly ground black pepper. I served the meatloaf with some prepared gravy and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Lower the fat in this tasty dish by using 3 egg whites and water. Add any extras to give more flavor, I add onions and garlic (a friend of mine adds peppers). This is a great 2 point per serving for those on Weight Watchers when prepared as mentioned above. My picky (and I do mean picky) toddler absolutly adores this! Very easy to make too! Sometimes to give the more tradional meatlaof appearence, I add tomato sauce. Not necessary, but tasty nonetheless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG1014

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I only had a pound of ground turkey, and I think I didn't judge correctly how much stuffing mix to use, so it was a "tiny" bit dry - I'll work it better next time. If I had had the gravy, it would have been just fine actually, but the hubby didn't feel like gravy that night. Added a few sauteed onions and some grated carrots and garlic powder for our personal flavor. The next day, meatloaf sandwhiches were sooooo good! lol I think I'd make this just for the sandwhich part to be honest. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
This meatloaf was absolutely yummy!My husband ate it all up, and we will definitely make this recipe again. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This is really a fantastic base recipe to use, and it's very easy to experiment with. I halved the recipe (only had a little over one pound of turkey) and replaced the chicken stuffing with cornbread stuffing. I also added one sauteed onion, a can of stewed crushed tomatoes (drained), 1/2 tsp. marjoram, and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. It's an eclectic assortment of stuff, but my husband and two-year old son loved it, and it was much healthier than the food my son normally loves to eat. I covered it with foil while baking, but there were so many juices that I would recommend covering it for only about half the bake time if you're concerned about dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States