Thanksgiving Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
My sister was the one who discovered this recipe on Allrecipes.com and made a few modifications which made the meatloaf even tastier. First, chop a large onion and mince (about) 3 cloves garlic. Coarsely chop 1 pound mushrooms (any variety you prefer) and saute along with onion and garlic until soft. Add mixture to the rest of meatloaf ingredients along with 1 teaspoon salt and freshly ground pepper to taste. Mix everything together well and set aside in the refrigerator for 2 hours for flavors to meld. It's also better to do a free-form loaf rather than baking it in a pan as it a free-form loaf browns better and allows excess fat to drain off. Follow the above modifications for an outstanding meatloaf. We served the meatloaf with the Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole (also from Allrecipes.com), grilled asparagus and baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I'll be honest; I didn't make this per the recipe on the first try. There were so many reviews saying it was dry and/or bland ... I tweaked it right out of the gate. I'm glad I did! It was FANTASTIC. Here's what I did: I used 20 ounces of turkey, and a 6 oz package of turkey stuffing. I mixed two cups of the stuffing (2/3 of the package) with a cup of water (about the proper amount per the package, minus a bit to allow for turkey juices), plus 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon. To this I added the turkey, one egg, one stalk of celery chopped small, about the same amount of diced yellow onion, and the following seasonings: garlic, marjoram, thyme, rosemary, ginger, white pepper, celery salt, and sea salt. These were eyeballed. I was liberal with the salt and garlic - a few decent shakes of the rosemary, thyme, and white pepper, and small dashes of the marjoram, ginger, and celery salt. I plunked it in a loaf pan and kind of settled it down in with a spoon making ridges in the top (so it wasn't domed). The remaining cup of stuffing I mixed with 2/3 cup of water and poured over the loaf. I recommend baking to the internal temperature - mine took longer than an hour. I did make turkey gravy to pour over top, but it didn't need it! It was flavorful and moist! Hubs (picky) went back for seconds! As an added plus, it looked GORGEOUS with the baked stuffing on top. YUMMY! (I gave it 4 stars because it wasn't the actual recipe. What I did make I would definitely give 5 stars.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is a great simple recipe. My five year old, who never eats anything that I cook, loved it. I, too, served it with a jar of turkey gravy, which I poured on top for the last 15 min of cook time. I spooned out the run-off gravy and topped mashed potatoes with it. With corn, it was a perfect meal, and enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
I only had a pound of ground turkey, and I think I didn't judge correctly how much stuffing mix to use, so it was a "tiny" bit dry - I'll work it better next time. If I had had the gravy, it would have been just fine actually, but the hubby didn't feel like gravy that night. Added a few sauteed onions and some grated carrots and garlic powder for our personal flavor. The next day, meatloaf sandwhiches were sooooo good! lol I think I'd make this just for the sandwhich part to be honest. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Easy, delicious, cooks well either in the oven or the crockpot. Some other ingredients that work are: garlic, onion, poultry seasoning, chicken broth, and/or sauteed celery. Just a very adaptable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I also used this recipe as a foundation. I chopped a whole onion, and minced 4 cloves of garlic and a medium-sized carrot - i sauteed all of these until they were fairly soft. I added this mixture to the turkey, the stuffing (i used the low sodium version), egg beaters (instead of whole eggs). I also added 2 teaspoons of mustard, as well as some freshly ground black pepper. I served the meatloaf with some prepared gravy and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
This is really a fantastic base recipe to use, and it's very easy to experiment with. I halved the recipe (only had a little over one pound of turkey) and replaced the chicken stuffing with cornbread stuffing. I also added one sauteed onion, a can of stewed crushed tomatoes (drained), 1/2 tsp. marjoram, and 1/2 tsp. garlic powder. It's an eclectic assortment of stuff, but my husband and two-year old son loved it, and it was much healthier than the food my son normally loves to eat. I covered it with foil while baking, but there were so many juices that I would recommend covering it for only about half the bake time if you're concerned about dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
We found this to be very bland. Very easy but no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Everyone loved this recipe! I too added chopped onion, garlic and seasonings. For once, I didn't have any ground turkey in the house, so I had to ground beef instead. I then made a brown gravy with the drippings and served with mashed spuds. Terrific idea Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
I read the other reviews and added some onion soup mix and garlic powder. My daughter loved it. I, however, hated it. I think it was the cooking time (or maybe my oven) I think this needs to cook around 75-80 minutes so the stuffing is not so mushy. Maybe I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States