Thanksgiving Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because i changed recipe, but it was very good with changes. I followed some changes as per previous reviewers and did as follows. I used a microplane and grated up 1 carrot, 1 celery stalk and half an onion with roughly 2 tsps of minced garlic. I used 1 1/4 lbs. of ground turkey and half of 6 oz. chicken stuffing prepared. With that I added about 2-3 good shakes of thyme, rosemary, marjoram and S&P. Mixed all together along with 1 egg beaten and 2 tbsp and 2 tsp of milk. I lined a cookie sheet with foil and down the center of a cooling rack also foiled I just cut some slits down the foiled rack. I freeformed a loaf shape onto the foiled rack and i added the remaining stuffing mix to the top of loaf. I baked at 350 for about 75 minutes and served along with some roasted garlic mash and steamed string beans with an onion gravy. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I like to follow the advice of others who have reviewed a recipe... on that note I took the advice to add more seasonings. It was still a bit blah for my taste. I don't think I'll use turkey for meat loaf again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Annie
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I'll be honest; I didn't make this per the recipe on the first try. There were so many reviews saying it was dry and/or bland ... I tweaked it right out of the gate. I'm glad I did! It was FANTASTIC. Here's what I did: I used 20 ounces of turkey, and a 6 oz package of turkey stuffing. I mixed two cups of the stuffing (2/3 of the package) with a cup of water (about the proper amount per the package, minus a bit to allow for turkey juices), plus 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon. To this I added the turkey, one egg, one stalk of celery chopped small, about the same amount of diced yellow onion, and the following seasonings: garlic, marjoram, thyme, rosemary, ginger, white pepper, celery salt, and sea salt. These were eyeballed. I was liberal with the salt and garlic - a few decent shakes of the rosemary, thyme, and white pepper, and small dashes of the marjoram, ginger, and celery salt. I plunked it in a loaf pan and kind of settled it down in with a spoon making ridges in the top (so it wasn't domed). The remaining cup of stuffing I mixed with 2/3 cup of water and poured over the loaf. I recommend baking to the internal temperature - mine took longer than an hour. I did make turkey gravy to pour over top, but it didn't need it! It was flavorful and moist! Hubs (picky) went back for seconds! As an added plus, it looked GORGEOUS with the baked stuffing on top. YUMMY! (I gave it 4 stars because it wasn't the actual recipe. What I did make I would definitely give 5 stars.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I, as the other have, tweaked the recipe. I made a small stuffing from scratch and mixed it with turkey. In my stuffing, I used .5 lb of sausage. It gave it great flavor. The meatloaf was pretty good (with gravy on it) but I think the real treat will be sandwiches with cranberry sauce tomorrow. Mmmm, the moist maker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
delicious! We had a pre-thanksgiving craving that this meatloaf satisfied! Thanks for this creative, easy and adaptable recipe! I followed recommendations from other reviews and added garlic and onion and celery since I had it. We served it with veggies, sweet potato fries and cranberry sauce just for the extra thanksgiving touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I cooked it in the slow cooker for 7 hours on low. It was very moist but even with the addition of onions and garlic, it was a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenenski Family
Home Town: Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This was SO good!! So simple and quick and SO yummy!! I didn't make any changes to the recipe. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
My husband and I REALLY loved this recipe! He even brought the leftovers to work for lunch----which he never does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
Easy and tasty. We add some onion and I put gravy over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This is now the only meatloaf my husband wants and the only one he has ever asked for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States