Thanksgiving Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This was delicious with a few alterations. I'm not sure what was different, but it was very moist despite the fact that I only added one egg and NONE of the milk. I also used only two pounds of ground turkey and two+ cups of stuffing. I used frozen ground turkey and left the water from it in the bowl after defrosting (about 1 tablespoon). So, that may have helped. I also added sauteed onion and garlic, about 2 teaspoons worstershire sauce, and salt and pepper. It was great and the whole family loved it. It was very similar to a ground beef meatloaf, so this will be my permanent healthy replacement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I made this with onion soup mix, fresh garlic and of course spices (salt, pepper, onion powder). We loved it...will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I'll be honest; I didn't make this per the recipe on the first try. There were so many reviews saying it was dry and/or bland ... I tweaked it right out of the gate. I'm glad I did! It was FANTASTIC. Here's what I did: I used 20 ounces of turkey, and a 6 oz package of turkey stuffing. I mixed two cups of the stuffing (2/3 of the package) with a cup of water (about the proper amount per the package, minus a bit to allow for turkey juices), plus 1/2 tsp chicken bouillon. To this I added the turkey, one egg, one stalk of celery chopped small, about the same amount of diced yellow onion, and the following seasonings: garlic, marjoram, thyme, rosemary, ginger, white pepper, celery salt, and sea salt. These were eyeballed. I was liberal with the salt and garlic - a few decent shakes of the rosemary, thyme, and white pepper, and small dashes of the marjoram, ginger, and celery salt. I plunked it in a loaf pan and kind of settled it down in with a spoon making ridges in the top (so it wasn't domed). The remaining cup of stuffing I mixed with 2/3 cup of water and poured over the loaf. I recommend baking to the internal temperature - mine took longer than an hour. I did make turkey gravy to pour over top, but it didn't need it! It was flavorful and moist! Hubs (picky) went back for seconds! As an added plus, it looked GORGEOUS with the baked stuffing on top. YUMMY! (I gave it 4 stars because it wasn't the actual recipe. What I did make I would definitely give 5 stars.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
WOW!!!Finally a GREAT meatloaf recipe - after searching and trying recipes for 40 years - this one was a keeper! THANK YOU FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I have never tried ground turkey. I thought I would give it a whirl. I did not care for this recipe. I prepared it as directed. I won't be making this again. In fact it will be a long time before I have turkey or any kind of meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheGrandDuchess

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Reviews are one of my favorite things about allrecipes and I use them to (I think) make better recipes. Since some people said this was dry, I only used one cup of stuffing mix. For more flavor I chopped fine one carrot, half a stalk of celery, some red onion, two cloves of pressed garlic, and a little dry thyme (did not saute-they cook up nicely while the meatloaf bakes). All the other ingredients I left the same. Then I used half a can of whole cranberry sauce, 1/4 cup catsup, and 1/4 cup mustard to glaze. This made for a healthy (for meatloaf) main dish that my husband raved about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Poultry seasoning is the trick to giving anything that classic thanksgiving flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Very tasty. A nice quick short cut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
I usually end up liking the random recipes that I find on here...but this...this was bad. so bland, so dry, so not making it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States