Thanksgiving Leftovers Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is a really easy recipe that keeps all the flavors of Thanksgiving intact in one, tasty casserole. I'll be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I used Kraft Olive Oil Mayo and added some dried thyme and poultry seasoning to the turkey and vegetable mixture. Serve with gravy and whole berry cranberry sauce--it reminded us of a turkey shepherd's pie. This is a great way to use up leftovers, and it's so versatile. Use your own stuffing, favorite vegetables, and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
We LOVED this casserole! Super simple to throw together, and so delicious. I made extra gravy for the top, but it really didn't need it. I used chicken b/c that's what I had on hand and light mayo. I baked this in a round casserole dish, b/c a 13x9 seemed like it would be too big to get nice layering. This is a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I cooked my "make-ahead" turkey gravy this weekend, so I added extra turkey wings, and used that meat to make half of this recipe. This takes minutes to assemble, and it gets two thumbs up in this house. I had some concerns about the addition of mayo, but I think all is did was add some moisture, but none of its flavor. I can see making this with leftover chicken as well as turkey throughout the year. Great new casserole that will be recycled often here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I love this recipe! I celebrated Thanksgiving early this year when my sister was visiting me over the weekend so I was able to make this today. I followed the recipe completely but added in some salt and pepper, poultry seasoning, and chopped fresh rosemary to the turkey/vegetable mixture. It was delicious! Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday and I love the traditional meal. I will often make it once during the year aside from Thanksgiving just because I love it so. This recipe might just save me from going through all the work when I am craving it again and it's a long time till November :-) I can see using a rotisserie chicken in place of the turkey and Stove Top stuffing is available all year long so it's a no brainer! This is one of those recipes where I ask myself, "Why didn't I think of it first????" I will say I was skeptical about using the mayo, but it worked in it beautifully and this is NOT a greasy dish because of it. I added my own homemade cranberry sauce from this site which went beautifully with this casserole. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! I would use this as a complete Thanksgiving meal for a small group if I didn't want the hassle of a huge dinner. I was skeptical about the mayo, but it kept the turkey moist and gave it a great flavor. I made a few changes: Added dry marjoram to the chicken, along with salt & pepper; Used canned veggies since we don't like the texture of frozen (used peas & carrots) and it was wonderful that way; Added even more cheddar to the top instead of paprika. What a great recipe-why didn't I think of this??? *hint: MUST be served with cranberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was a huge hit! Simple to throw together and a great (and versatile) way to use leftovers. My daughter is a picky eater and she gobbled her serving up and asked me to put it in her lunch the next day! Since it's not Thanksgiving yet and I didn't have any leftover turkey lying around I subbed leftover chicken and it was just fine. This one will definitely be made again after Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
What's more convenient than a casserole? Make it more nutritious by adding more veggies. Used Herdez frozen vegetables for color and flavor. Satisfying and quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is the best thing to make with your left-overs! After all that cooking on and leading up to Thanksgiving, the last thing I want to do for a while is cook! Ah hell nah!!! Throw this little jewel of a casserole together right quick and kick yo' feet up girlfriend and enjoy the rest of the holiday weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I was actually surprised I liked this as much as I did. I did lighten it up by using Kraft reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese, Kraft Olive Oil Mayo, and making the stuffing with only 1 TBS of butter. I also added a tsp of poultry seasonings (recipe from this site) to the mayo-turkey-vegetable mix. Garnished the top of the casserole with green onions as well as the paprika. This is a good recipe to use up Thanksgiving leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States