Thanksgiving Leftovers Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe. I made it twice. The first time I adapted it to make a festive looking meal for the vegetarian clients of our soup kitchen. I started with Stovetop Cornbread stuffing, prepared as directed then added sautéed celery, onions and grated carrot and pressed it into the baking pan as a crust. I added a layer of chopped Portabella mushrooms which I sautéed with onions and mixed with Italian cheese blend. The top was mashed potatoes, piped into rosettes. This was the first time I felt we presented a vegetarian meal equal to the regular meal. The second time I made it as per the recipe, but using leftover stuffing and a frozen vegetable mix with leftover turkey. The mayo made it moist and enhanced the flavors. The topping was a bit scant because there was only a small amount of left over mashed potatoes. I served it with homemade cranberry relish and no one whined about leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I cooked my "make-ahead" turkey gravy this weekend, so I added extra turkey wings, and used that meat to make half of this recipe. This takes minutes to assemble, and it gets two thumbs up in this house. I had some concerns about the addition of mayo, but I think all is did was add some moisture, but none of its flavor. I can see making this with leftover chicken as well as turkey throughout the year. Great new casserole that will be recycled often here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I was actually surprised I liked this as much as I did. I did lighten it up by using Kraft reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese, Kraft Olive Oil Mayo, and making the stuffing with only 1 TBS of butter. I also added a tsp of poultry seasonings (recipe from this site) to the mayo-turkey-vegetable mix. Garnished the top of the casserole with green onions as well as the paprika. This is a good recipe to use up Thanksgiving leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I thought this tasted good, but honestly reminded me of a Thanksgiving plate layered. If making this with leftovers, it took considerably more turkey and potatoes than I had expected. I used about 8 good sized medium potatoes and the turkey was about 2/3 of the white meat on a turkey. I liked the potato and stuffing layer. I boiled the potatoes in water flavored with no-sodium chicken broth powder for extra flavor. The stuffing, I tweaked to a homemade stuffing with sauteed onions, dried sage, and some extra bread and a little liquid added to Stove Top's cornbread stuffing. I didn't love the middle layer. I added some seasonings, but it kind of reminded me of turkey salad. I used regular mayo, as I find miracle whip more of a sweet salad dressing. However, all together it worked fine. As this doesn't have any sauce to it, definitely serve with your favorite Thanksgiving additions. Think, I will be making some homemade cranberry sauce to go on the side. It's a must, for me, with a Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Cookie734
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
OK, so this recipe was a pleasant surprise. I have to be honest and say that I wasn't sure I was going to like it. Sure, I like all of the Thanksgiving food ingredients. But the mixed vegetables, added with the mayo...I was skeptical. But I have to say this casserole is absolutely fabulous! The end result is very pot pie-ish, and that's always a winner with my family. It's the ultimate comfort food, and this puts a wonderful Thanksgiving spin on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie734
Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I was surprised that I liked this, as I AM NOT a casserole person at all. The green beans that I made for Thanksgiving had miracle whip, bacon and onions, so I just used those in place of the frozen mixed veggies and miracle whip in the recipe. What I did like a lot about this is that it sure saves on space in the refrigerator! Rather than 3 or 4 containers of leftovers, you just have one casserole dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was super easy to make. As I was assembling the casserole, my family was saying, "mayonnaise, really." However, when we ate the casserole, everyone said it was good. It is a good way to get my family to eat vegetables. I do think I would add some milk (1/4 cup or more) to the mayonnaise because I like more sauce. Other than that, this is a good recipe to use up all the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe is a good base recipe for your holiday leftovers. It can be tweaked to your personal taste which I plan on doing the next time I make it. As written my husband loved the idea behind it and was full of suggestions on how to make it better. One kid ate it no complaints, 2 others picked at their favorite parts and my picky eater wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was a huge hit! Simple to throw together and a great (and versatile) way to use leftovers. My daughter is a picky eater and she gobbled her serving up and asked me to put it in her lunch the next day! Since it's not Thanksgiving yet and I didn't have any leftover turkey lying around I subbed leftover chicken and it was just fine. This one will definitely be made again after Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I used Kraft Olive Oil Mayo and added some dried thyme and poultry seasoning to the turkey and vegetable mixture. Serve with gravy and whole berry cranberry sauce--it reminded us of a turkey shepherd's pie. This is a great way to use up leftovers, and it's so versatile. Use your own stuffing, favorite vegetables, and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States