Thanksgiving Leftovers Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My family loved this recipe! I used Kraft Olive Oil Mayo and added some dried thyme and poultry seasoning to the turkey and vegetable mixture. Serve with gravy and whole berry cranberry sauce--it reminded us of a turkey shepherd's pie. This is a great way to use up leftovers, and it's so versatile. Use your own stuffing, favorite vegetables, and make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by SunnyDaysNora
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This was a huge hit! Simple to throw together and a great (and versatile) way to use leftovers. My daughter is a picky eater and she gobbled her serving up and asked me to put it in her lunch the next day! Since it's not Thanksgiving yet and I didn't have any leftover turkey lying around I subbed leftover chicken and it was just fine. This one will definitely be made again after Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
What's more convenient than a casserole? Make it more nutritious by adding more veggies. Used Herdez frozen vegetables for color and flavor. Satisfying and quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is the best thing to make with your left-overs! After all that cooking on and leading up to Thanksgiving, the last thing I want to do for a while is cook! Ah hell nah!!! Throw this little jewel of a casserole together right quick and kick yo' feet up girlfriend and enjoy the rest of the holiday weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I thought this tasted good, but honestly reminded me of a Thanksgiving plate layered. If making this with leftovers, it took considerably more turkey and potatoes than I had expected. I used about 8 good sized medium potatoes and the turkey was about 2/3 of the white meat on a turkey. I liked the potato and stuffing layer. I boiled the potatoes in water flavored with no-sodium chicken broth powder for extra flavor. The stuffing, I tweaked to a homemade stuffing with sauteed onions, dried sage, and some extra bread and a little liquid added to Stove Top's cornbread stuffing. I didn't love the middle layer. I added some seasonings, but it kind of reminded me of turkey salad. I used regular mayo, as I find miracle whip more of a sweet salad dressing. However, all together it worked fine. As this doesn't have any sauce to it, definitely serve with your favorite Thanksgiving additions. Think, I will be making some homemade cranberry sauce to go on the side. It's a must, for me, with a Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe is a good base recipe for your holiday leftovers. It can be tweaked to your personal taste which I plan on doing the next time I make it. As written my husband loved the idea behind it and was full of suggestions on how to make it better. One kid ate it no complaints, 2 others picked at their favorite parts and my picky eater wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I was actually surprised I liked this as much as I did. I did lighten it up by using Kraft reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese, Kraft Olive Oil Mayo, and making the stuffing with only 1 TBS of butter. I also added a tsp of poultry seasonings (recipe from this site) to the mayo-turkey-vegetable mix. Garnished the top of the casserole with green onions as well as the paprika. This is a good recipe to use up Thanksgiving leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is a really easy recipe that keeps all the flavors of Thanksgiving intact in one, tasty casserole. I'll be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was better than I thought it would be! A nice surprise. I did use mayo in mine...a personal preference. And I baked it at 350 for about an hour to try to get the cornbread Stove Top stuffing I used and the mashed potato/cheese topping a little "crunchy". Worked great. I had some leftover gravy, so poured a little of that over the top. It was in the oven within 15 minutes, so it's a really easy recipe to try after all those days before and during Thanksgiving spent in the kitchen. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I cooked my "make-ahead" turkey gravy this weekend, so I added extra turkey wings, and used that meat to make half of this recipe. This takes minutes to assemble, and it gets two thumbs up in this house. I had some concerns about the addition of mayo, but I think all is did was add some moisture, but none of its flavor. I can see making this with leftover chicken as well as turkey throughout the year. Great new casserole that will be recycled often here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States