Thanksgiving Leftovers Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
This was super easy to make. As I was assembling the casserole, my family was saying, "mayonnaise, really." However, when we ate the casserole, everyone said it was good. It is a good way to get my family to eat vegetables. I do think I would add some milk (1/4 cup or more) to the mayonnaise because I like more sauce. Other than that, this is a good recipe to use up all the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by happyschmoopies
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I wasn't sure how I would like this casserole, but, boy was I surprised! Based on other reviews I added some poultry seasoning and garlic powder to the filling, but, other than that made exactly as the recipe stated. I used mayonnaise instead of miracle whip due to my personal preference. The casserole came together quickly and was hearty and flavorful. It tasted like a cross between a pot pie and a shepherd's pie. It is a nice change for your leftovers from your Thanksgiving meal. I would recommend serving gravy on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happyschmoopies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidman, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! I would use this as a complete Thanksgiving meal for a small group if I didn't want the hassle of a huge dinner. I was skeptical about the mayo, but it kept the turkey moist and gave it a great flavor. I made a few changes: Added dry marjoram to the chicken, along with salt & pepper; Used canned veggies since we don't like the texture of frozen (used peas & carrots) and it was wonderful that way; Added even more cheddar to the top instead of paprika. What a great recipe-why didn't I think of this??? *hint: MUST be served with cranberry sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
We LOVED this casserole! Super simple to throw together, and so delicious. I made extra gravy for the top, but it really didn't need it. I used chicken b/c that's what I had on hand and light mayo. I baked this in a round casserole dish, b/c a 13x9 seemed like it would be too big to get nice layering. This is a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I love this recipe! I celebrated Thanksgiving early this year when my sister was visiting me over the weekend so I was able to make this today. I followed the recipe completely but added in some salt and pepper, poultry seasoning, and chopped fresh rosemary to the turkey/vegetable mixture. It was delicious! Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday and I love the traditional meal. I will often make it once during the year aside from Thanksgiving just because I love it so. This recipe might just save me from going through all the work when I am craving it again and it's a long time till November :-) I can see using a rotisserie chicken in place of the turkey and Stove Top stuffing is available all year long so it's a no brainer! This is one of those recipes where I ask myself, "Why didn't I think of it first????" I will say I was skeptical about using the mayo, but it worked in it beautifully and this is NOT a greasy dish because of it. I added my own homemade cranberry sauce from this site which went beautifully with this casserole. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This didn't really work for us. I think it was doomed from the start because the ingredients didn't really come together. Sorry, Kraft! I gave it a really good try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I cooked my "make-ahead" turkey gravy this weekend, so I added extra turkey wings, and used that meat to make half of this recipe. This takes minutes to assemble, and it gets two thumbs up in this house. I had some concerns about the addition of mayo, but I think all is did was add some moisture, but none of its flavor. I can see making this with leftover chicken as well as turkey throughout the year. Great new casserole that will be recycled often here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was better than I thought it would be! A nice surprise. I did use mayo in mine...a personal preference. And I baked it at 350 for about an hour to try to get the cornbread Stove Top stuffing I used and the mashed potato/cheese topping a little "crunchy". Worked great. I had some leftover gravy, so poured a little of that over the top. It was in the oven within 15 minutes, so it's a really easy recipe to try after all those days before and during Thanksgiving spent in the kitchen. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is a really easy recipe that keeps all the flavors of Thanksgiving intact in one, tasty casserole. I'll be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I was actually surprised I liked this as much as I did. I did lighten it up by using Kraft reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese, Kraft Olive Oil Mayo, and making the stuffing with only 1 TBS of butter. I also added a tsp of poultry seasonings (recipe from this site) to the mayo-turkey-vegetable mix. Garnished the top of the casserole with green onions as well as the paprika. This is a good recipe to use up Thanksgiving leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States