Thanksgiving Leftovers Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
We LOVED this casserole! Super simple to throw together, and so delicious. I made extra gravy for the top, but it really didn't need it. I used chicken b/c that's what I had on hand and light mayo. I baked this in a round casserole dish, b/c a 13x9 seemed like it would be too big to get nice layering. This is a definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by traceyposner
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I love this recipe! I celebrated Thanksgiving early this year when my sister was visiting me over the weekend so I was able to make this today. I followed the recipe completely but added in some salt and pepper, poultry seasoning, and chopped fresh rosemary to the turkey/vegetable mixture. It was delicious! Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday and I love the traditional meal. I will often make it once during the year aside from Thanksgiving just because I love it so. This recipe might just save me from going through all the work when I am craving it again and it's a long time till November :-) I can see using a rotisserie chicken in place of the turkey and Stove Top stuffing is available all year long so it's a no brainer! This is one of those recipes where I ask myself, "Why didn't I think of it first????" I will say I was skeptical about using the mayo, but it worked in it beautifully and this is NOT a greasy dish because of it. I added my own homemade cranberry sauce from this site which went beautifully with this casserole. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This didn't really work for us. I think it was doomed from the start because the ingredients didn't really come together. Sorry, Kraft! I gave it a really good try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I cooked my "make-ahead" turkey gravy this weekend, so I added extra turkey wings, and used that meat to make half of this recipe. This takes minutes to assemble, and it gets two thumbs up in this house. I had some concerns about the addition of mayo, but I think all is did was add some moisture, but none of its flavor. I can see making this with leftover chicken as well as turkey throughout the year. Great new casserole that will be recycled often here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Judy in Delaware
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was better than I thought it would be! A nice surprise. I did use mayo in mine...a personal preference. And I baked it at 350 for about an hour to try to get the cornbread Stove Top stuffing I used and the mashed potato/cheese topping a little "crunchy". Worked great. I had some leftover gravy, so poured a little of that over the top. It was in the oven within 15 minutes, so it's a really easy recipe to try after all those days before and during Thanksgiving spent in the kitchen. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy in Delaware

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This is a really easy recipe that keeps all the flavors of Thanksgiving intact in one, tasty casserole. I'll be making this for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I was actually surprised I liked this as much as I did. I did lighten it up by using Kraft reduced fat sharp cheddar cheese, Kraft Olive Oil Mayo, and making the stuffing with only 1 TBS of butter. I also added a tsp of poultry seasonings (recipe from this site) to the mayo-turkey-vegetable mix. Garnished the top of the casserole with green onions as well as the paprika. This is a good recipe to use up Thanksgiving leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe is a good base recipe for your holiday leftovers. It can be tweaked to your personal taste which I plan on doing the next time I make it. As written my husband loved the idea behind it and was full of suggestions on how to make it better. One kid ate it no complaints, 2 others picked at their favorite parts and my picky eater wouldn't touch it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I thought this tasted good, but honestly reminded me of a Thanksgiving plate layered. If making this with leftovers, it took considerably more turkey and potatoes than I had expected. I used about 8 good sized medium potatoes and the turkey was about 2/3 of the white meat on a turkey. I liked the potato and stuffing layer. I boiled the potatoes in water flavored with no-sodium chicken broth powder for extra flavor. The stuffing, I tweaked to a homemade stuffing with sauteed onions, dried sage, and some extra bread and a little liquid added to Stove Top's cornbread stuffing. I didn't love the middle layer. I added some seasonings, but it kind of reminded me of turkey salad. I used regular mayo, as I find miracle whip more of a sweet salad dressing. However, all together it worked fine. As this doesn't have any sauce to it, definitely serve with your favorite Thanksgiving additions. Think, I will be making some homemade cranberry sauce to go on the side. It's a must, for me, with a Thanksgiving meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
This is the best thing to make with your left-overs! After all that cooking on and leading up to Thanksgiving, the last thing I want to do for a while is cook! Ah hell nah!!! Throw this little jewel of a casserole together right quick and kick yo' feet up girlfriend and enjoy the rest of the holiday weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States