Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
On first sight, it looks like the casserole is all mush. But with the first bite, the stuffing mix works it's magic. The dry stuffing is definitely the greatest addition, I don't think cooked stuffing would work. The flavors were amazing together, and it's kid friendly! My 6 year old is very picky and he loved it! Great for a quick, filling meal any time of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrysRobey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wardsboro, Vermont, USA
Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Loved this recipe. I used a lot more turkey, and used leftover stuffing instead of using boxed stuffing crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
It was good, but didn't use very many left overs! We doubled the turkey and after eating it I think I would have put 4 cups of turkey instead of 1 cup. Flavor was a little bland, we added extra salt and pepper and I think next time we'll add onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 00Angela00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I was afraid to make this because everyone said it was too much filling for a 9 inch deep dish, so I had a smaller 8" pie crust standing by. I didn't use it. It's a Longaberger and maybe it's a little deeper than normal. I only modified by adding a tinge more cranberries. I baked it only 30 minutes because I had to leave the house, so the apples were a bit crisper than they should have been, but this was a KEEPER. Everyone loved it and asked to make it a regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I am giving this a 4 only because it was a little odd putting together -- I used double meat, mashed potatoes and cheese. The mashed potatoes were a little odd to layer/spread; and I was unsure about the stuffing - as it was essential dry stuffing - just the bread crumbs and butter and I was second guessing if that was correct... but it did work out ( I used stove top). All that being said the taste was delicious! We took it camping and it was great! My hisband raved about it. We felt there was plenty of seasoning/flavor. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jaybo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
This was a great recipe. I did not have potatoes on hand so I substituted creamy risotto rice cooked in chicken broth. It turned out great. I agreed with another rater to add spices so I added thyme, rosemary, and sage approx 1 tsp each. I added sauteed garlic 1 tsp and 1/2 onion to the evaporated milk. The dish was easy to cook and turned out beautifully. I would still increase the spices, onion, and garlic as it was delicious but a little too subtle. Kids age 2-6 loved the dish. I would make this again. Next time I think I would add some frozen peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Decent casserole. Kids all inhaled it, although we all said we tend to prefer the ingredients on their own. We usually love cheese and just couldn't seem to enjoy it in this one. I agree with the reviewers who said it needed more seasonings (I added a bunch and it would have been bland without). Also used twice the amount of meat called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is the second time I have made it. The first time I followed the recipe exactly but with extra seasonings, salt pepper and poultry seasoning. The next time I had quite a bit of turkey gravy left over and used that instead of the milk sauce. It was very good both ways but the turkey gravy does give it a much nicer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Excellent. I didn't change a thing except I added some sage to the gravy It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I have done this for years but use leftover gravey for the milk mixture. It is a favorite And like the others I sautee my onions and add garlic (personal preference) And like the others the vegetable depends on what I have in the fridge Great comfort food
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States