Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I fixed this last night and reviewed it before I sat down and ate it. I gave it 5 stars for the smell. I now give it 10 stars (if I could) for the taste. My husband is still talking about it this morning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
YUM! Kudos to yet ANOTHER great way to use up Tday leftovers!!! Both my hubs and I REALLY enjoyed this. Admittedly, I did "liven" this up a bit. Not only am I trying to rid my fridge of our last remaining turkey leftovers, I'm on a mission to clean out my freezer to make room for holiday goodies. While digging thru my freezer, I found a bag of buttered corn begging to be added to my casserole (I microwaved it per the package directions and then layered it on top of my turkey). :) I also added 1/4 t of garlic powder to my gravy. Now here's where I significantly deviated. I did not follow Sharon's layering directions at all. Instead, I started with my (prepared / leftover) stuffing, then turkey, gravy, corn and taters. I topped everything with (SHARP) cheddar and baked as directed. My final change was to use a MUCH smaller (8 x 8 in.) baking dish rather than the suggested 9 x 13 in. one (just seemed to fit better). Leftover cranberry sauce and dinner rolls completed our meal. I am happy to report that I have officially used up all of my holiday leftovers (hooray!). Thanks for sharing your recipe, Ms. Pruit! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Modified -This was great although I used my leftover turkey gravy instead of making the sauce. Used a 9 x 9 also. I omitted the cheese and added some leftover brussels sprouts (chopped up). Layer the turkey on the bottom, then b. sprouts, gravy, mashed potatoes, with the leftover stuffing on top. (I added a bit of gravy to the potatoes and warmed it on the stove. They spread very easily that way.) Cooked uncovered as directed. So quick and Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Probably doubled the turkey and added a little onion and celery to the bottom of the pan. I also increased the topping by 1/2 C. stuffing crumbs and an additional 1 TB of butter. The sauce set up beautifully. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I added little pieces of broccoli and they turned out great. I added twice the amount of turkey (at least). I probably wouldn't add the cheese because we couldn't taste it...even after we added a bunch. I would double the salt and add more seasoning, too. Family LOVED it and leftovers were gobbled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This was pretty good, but I had to make a couple of changes. First, only one cup of turkey would never have been enough so I doubled it. Also, I'm not a fan of evaporated milk so I used whole milk instead. I liked the flavor, but I think it would have been even better if there had been more of the crumb topping (I used Stove Top Turkey) since that's where the herbs and spices are. Will try again one day using chicken since we eat much more of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Just made this tonight! Delicious! Didn't have any cheese to add, but it was still tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Perfect way to use up Thanksgiving leftovers, added garlic seasoning, used corn instead of beans and added cheddar on top of the potatoes, I didnt mix it in as was instructed. Our picky daughter said it was so good!! Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Great way to use up leftovers.The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Evaporated my own milk and added more milk instead of water, of course more cheese on top of it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States