Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I had serious doubts but tried it anyways due to its ratings. We all loved it! I added lots more turkey, a bit more cheese, and I think I used quite a bit more potatoes "blobbed" on top. The sauce is a great alternative to canned soup, and less salty of course. My husband had thirds and my picky 2 year old even liked it. I am not much of a casserole fan and I even loved it! I made some quick cooking stuffing for the side as well as green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I followed the recipe, but added leftover corn and mushrooms. It was not mushy or bland. I will make this again. Like others have said, this is an easy to reipe to modify to taste. The entire casserole disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
If you can get over the "look" of this casserole you'll enjoy this. Alas, my children couldn't get over the "mush-like" appearance. I only had swiss cheese which worked out just fine..next time I will add more stuffing. I like the crunch it provided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Very tasty and wonderful texture. Excellent as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Great way to use up leftovers. I will keep this one in mind for chicken leftovers as well. I followed the recipe exactly but I did use instant mashed potatoes. Next time I will use a smaller baking dish as someone else advised because it is a little thin. This is a good one for picky eaters. I could understand how some found this bland. Would definitely add some seasoning to the sauce. I actually used leftover turkey steaks that I had heavily seasoned for grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I made this in the february, but it was still easy with shortcuts like mashed potatoes from flakes and chicken breast. I did add a little more (packaged)herb seasoned dry stuffing over the meat and sauce (it looked too soupy) and my family loved it. I might have to rename this-its too good to make once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
For me, this casserole was average at best. I followed the advise of other reviews and added some spice to the sauce, but it was still bland. I had hoped this might be the 'no canned soup included' recipe for leftover turkey I have been looking for. Sorry Sharon, but the search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was a very good use of leftover turkey. Kids and hubby liked it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEKABA99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is a tasty dish. The only change I made was that I used regular milk with a little less water. Oh, and I doubled the turkey, and used more that listed cheese and potatoes. If I were to make this again I'd put in a layer of stuffing or veggies or something. It turned out a little thin. This is definatly a recipe that mix and match ingredients with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
My husband loved this one! He ate two plates full. I used more turkey, potatoes & stuffing,then called for and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States