Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is so good! I added much more turkey and added some chopped pork loin too! I added a couple of dashes of red pepper and a couple of dashes of tabasco sauce to the sauce. After I put the cheese on (about 2 cups), I added 1/2 cup creole veggies. You get this in the produce section already chopped. (fresh garlic, white onions, green onions, celery, and red bell peppers) For the topping, I used packaged dry corn bread stuffing crumbs and added a couple of dashes of Tony's. Again, this was REALLY good. This is so much better than any other left over turkey recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I had serious doubts but tried it anyways due to its ratings. We all loved it! I added lots more turkey, a bit more cheese, and I think I used quite a bit more potatoes "blobbed" on top. The sauce is a great alternative to canned soup, and less salty of course. My husband had thirds and my picky 2 year old even liked it. I am not much of a casserole fan and I even loved it! I made some quick cooking stuffing for the side as well as green beans. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I followed the recipe, but added leftover corn and mushrooms. It was not mushy or bland. I will make this again. Like others have said, this is an easy to reipe to modify to taste. The entire casserole disappeared quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
If you can get over the "look" of this casserole you'll enjoy this. Alas, my children couldn't get over the "mush-like" appearance. I only had swiss cheese which worked out just fine..next time I will add more stuffing. I like the crunch it provided.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Very tasty and wonderful texture. Excellent as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Great way to use up leftovers. I will keep this one in mind for chicken leftovers as well. I followed the recipe exactly but I did use instant mashed potatoes. Next time I will use a smaller baking dish as someone else advised because it is a little thin. This is a good one for picky eaters. I could understand how some found this bland. Would definitely add some seasoning to the sauce. I actually used leftover turkey steaks that I had heavily seasoned for grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I made this in the february, but it was still easy with shortcuts like mashed potatoes from flakes and chicken breast. I did add a little more (packaged)herb seasoned dry stuffing over the meat and sauce (it looked too soupy) and my family loved it. I might have to rename this-its too good to make once a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2005
For me, this casserole was average at best. I followed the advise of other reviews and added some spice to the sauce, but it was still bland. I had hoped this might be the 'no canned soup included' recipe for leftover turkey I have been looking for. Sorry Sharon, but the search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This was a very good use of leftover turkey. Kids and hubby liked it, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEKABA99

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
This is a tasty dish. The only change I made was that I used regular milk with a little less water. Oh, and I doubled the turkey, and used more that listed cheese and potatoes. If I were to make this again I'd put in a layer of stuffing or veggies or something. It turned out a little thin. This is definatly a recipe that mix and match ingredients with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States