Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This would have been better if I hadn't accidentally bought condensed milk instead of evaporated milk. But it was still really yummy. Especially with left over gravy on top of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
My husband loved this! We used a garlic cheese mashed potato mix and I think that really helped add to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Pretty good. I added celery, garlic, and carrots to the sauce, and seasoned with Tony's seasoning salt. I also used some leftover prepared stuffing and sprinkled some extra cheese on top. This is a really good way to use up leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Willis, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
The sauce was a bit bland but the dish was OK never the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
This was great! I will definitely make this again--and year round! I made a number of changes though-- first I used yogurt butter in place of butter which worked fine. I used 2% low fat evaporate milk and the sauce was the perfect richness while not feeling too heavy. To give the sauce more flavor I substituted chicken broth for the water, and added about 1/4-1/2t. Rosemary Herb blend. Also, I stir-fried 1c chopped onion in the onion for the stuffing mix for a couple minutes and threw in 2 stalks chopped celery at the last minute. I changed the amount of stuffing mix to 4 cups and left it as cubes to make it more stuffing-like. "Spreading" the mashed potatoes over a liquid was clearly not going to work so I dropped spoonfuls over the mixture as evenly as I could and it worked just fine. Easy and delicious! Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This was a good use of my Thanksgiving leftovers. My kids all ate it, I could hide vegetables in it without them getting upset, and my husband went for seconds. I made this earlier in the day then put it in the refrigerator. I heated it in the microwave for five minutes before putting it in the oven. I also put a thin layer of leftover yams on top. It gave it a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I made this tonight. I made my Thanksgiving dinner last night at home. I did change this up just a little. I read in some of the reviews that is may have been a little bland. I used regular milk in the sauce (I thought I had evaporated milk but it was condenced...that would have been a gross mistake!!) And I did not add the water. I put the white sauce ontop of the turkey that I had mixed with some frozen mixed veggies and topped it with some leftover gravy. Then layered the rest on. And I added some french fried onions to the top with about 10 min. left in the baking time. Very yummy! I will make this with leftovers from every turkey....maybe even chicken! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Washington, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
Thanks for the idea for using Thanksgiving leftovers. I made a few changes though and it came out really tasty. First, I made a white sauce and then added the leftover turkey gravy for flavoring (about 2 cups of gravy). Then I added about 4 cups of chopped turkey to the mixture. I poured it into a large roasting pan (9x12) and topped off the turkey mixture first with mashed potatoes and then with the prepared stuffing that I had already made. For an extra crunch I added about 2 cups of crushed flavored croutons before baking. This not only made enough for 1 dinner but also will last for another dinner plus a couple of lunches. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This was awesome! I used all the leftover PREPARED stuffing I had, which was at least half a bag. I layered it wrong--stuffing first, turkey with sauce and then the potatoes with cheese sprinkled on top. It was divine! I read the review on the blandness, so before I added the flour I added 1/4 chopped onion, 2 cloves chopped garlic, and a chopped celery stalk. THEN added 2 more tablespoons of butter and the flour. It was SOO good! I will make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This was an awesome meal, and everyone loved it, even my very picky 15yo daughter. I didn't have mashed potatoes so I substituted some dumpling-style egg noodles that i cooked in chicken broth. Based on other reviews I also added some basil and thyme and also doubled the amount of turkey. Great taste, easy to prepare, and everyone loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARSHYNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Line, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey Noodle Casserole

See how to make this classic casserole starring leftover Thanksgiving turkey.

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States