Thanksgiving Leftover Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
I have made this recipe twice in one week after Thanksgiving. My family loved it and also my guests. It was so easy and really emptied my refrigerator from all the leftovers. I seasoned the sauce mixture, added more cheese, and some turkey gravy on the mashed potatoes. And of course added a lot more than 1 cup of turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
With a few additions, FANTASTIC! It was so cool to have a recipe that not only used up the extra turkey I had, but also the potatoes and stuffing! Because of other reviewers comments I also sauteed some onions and minced garlic in the butter before adding the flour. I also used leftover prepared stuffing rather than dry and it was YUMMY! I probably tripled the amount of turkey and it still turned out perfectly. I even messed up and put the stuffing down before the potatoes, so the potatoes were on the top, but it still tasted great. I also added in some chopped up leftover broccoli, just sprinkled on top of the turkey. My picky eaters (ages 11, 8, and 4) also commented on how tasty it was. I'm definitely keeping this recipe for future Thanksgiving leftovers. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I loved this, what an easy way to use up leftovers. I seasoned the sauce with pepper, salt, garlic powder. I just used stuffing I already had made, added fresh parsley over the top of the turkey before adding the next layer. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIAJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenai, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This is the way to eat Thanksgiving leftovers... Yum! I give it 4 stars because I did have to alter the recipe. I agree with previous posts that There isnt enough in the layering, so I added more. I used 2 cups turkey, 2-3 cups prepared stuffing, 2 cups mashed potatoes, & cream instead of evaporated milk. I also added garlic, onion powder & black pepper. Very, very good! Served this to family w/age ranging from 2 yrs-80yrs & everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is excellent - however I don't understand how one cup of cooked turkey is going to cover a 13x9" pan. My daughter put a generous amount of turkey in the dish. Also, 2 cups of mashed potatoes would make for a very thin layer - she added a generous amount here as well. We added the following to the salt and pepper: one browned onion (omitted the onion powder), 1/2 tsp. thyme, 1/2 tsp. rosemary and 1 tsp. sage (as suggested by others). We also added a bit more cheese. I can't wait to try this with leftover chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
read reviews and double every thing but sause, also add sage and thyme to me sause. Will make again maybe use leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I roasted a large chicken this weekend and had some leftovers. I made this and it was great. I did not use the mashed potatoes because I didn't have any and per previous reveiwers, I added some poultry season to the sauce. I also made a box of instant stuffing per box directions. Next time I will add the potatoes. This was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This is wonderful! I, many others, increased the potatoes, chesse and added spices. I sauted celery and onion with the 3 tbsp butter and made sure the flour browned up a bit before adding the evap. milk. Increased the flour/butter just a little and also added some turkey broth that I had frozen from last turkeyday (a.k.a Thanksgiving). I popped it into the oven around 10 a.m. at 250 and covered it because we were heading to church. When we got back just after 12, I took off the foil, upped the temp to 350 and had a nice crispy, piping hot dinner in 15 min. I'm anxious to try it with my homemade gravy and stuffing at this years turkeyday! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Okay. So, I looked at the ingredients and thought that I could fit them into a 8x8 pan. And I could. I just wish I would have thought ahead and cut back on the sauce. After I used the sauce, I had about half the sauce leftover. I did a layer of sauce inbetween the layers of thanksgiving food. Seemed to work out great. The casserole was just moist enough. The sauce wasn't overpowering and had just the right touch for the casserole insides. My husband and I liked it but my kids did not. I would have put it in "to make again" recipe collection if my kids had liked it. This is why I'm only giving it three stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
AWESOME AWESOME AWESOME!! I have made this a number of times...even with chicken! I did add some flavouring - garlic powder and such - and some frozen veggies! YUMMY - for those who DON'T like creamy casseroles (like myself!) this one is a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leaf Fan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thanksgiving Leftover Wedge Pies

Baked handheld pies filled with mashed potatoes, turkey, and cranberry sauce.

Thanksgiving Leftover Pizza

Ideal Thanksgiving leftover meal - pizza with gravy, mashed potatoes, and turkey!

Leftover Pizza Breakfast Casserole

Combine two classic favorites - breakfast and pizza - for a new morning favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States