Thanksgiving Day Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I have one thing to say about this recipe, DELICIOUS! It was a hit at our Thanksgiving table. I already have a request to bring to family Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairlawn, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was very good, even better the secnd day. However, mine didn't set as well as I would have liked, so would probably decrease the water a little bit the next time to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA
Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
In my family there has been a jellied cranberry salad with walnuts and dates for years, but this Thanksgiving I decided to try this and we all enjoyed it, I liked the strawberries in it. I made half with and half without nuts (the children).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marji

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boothbay Harbor, Maine, USA
Living In: Aptos, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
I made this for a Christmas event but didn't care for the strawberries in it, and the texture of the cranberry skins was unpleasant. I had made another red gelatin salad which was similar but much better: Water reduced to 1 3/4 cup, raspberry gelatin instead of strawberry, an 8 oz. can of crushed pineapple with juice instead of frozen strawberries, jellied cranberry sauce instead of whole, same amount of chopped pecans, and add 3/4 cup orange juice and 1 T. lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this for our Christmas dinner and it was a hit. Several guests asked for the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This got rave reviews last year and I was just asked to bring it to Thanksgiving again, however, I did use jellied cranberry sauce, raspberry jello, and 8 oz crushed pineapple like a previous reviewer suggested. Thanks so much for the tip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
Loved this recipe and will make every Thanksgiving forever. We did some whole berry and some jellied and it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tsbourne
Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
Made for Thanksgiving, everyone loved it and said it would replace the regular cranberries we usually have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Okay, this salad tastes AMAZING, but I had some serious issues with the appearance...first of all, I chilled the mold for 6-8 hours as stated, but when I turned the thing out onto a serving platter, it was too liquid to keep the pretty shape from the mold. The only change I made was to use the jellied cranberry sauce instead of whole berry. The topping was very tasty, but I found it to be lumpy...I would suggest beating the cream cheese with the sugar and lemon juice until fluffy, and then folding in the sour cream, I will do this next time I make this, and I will also put the jello part in a bowl instead of a mold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I LOVE this recipe and so does my family. Sometimes, I even add a can of pineapple tidbits to it. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShellyMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Roquefort Pear Salad

This creamy, tangy salad has a delicious crunch from the pecans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States