Thanksgiving Day Creamed Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
At first I followed the recipe to a tee. Too much "goo" and not enough turnip. Also, that "goo" was super plain, and on top of that, basically just tasted like thick milk. I tried to add cheese and salt to try to make it more like a turnip au gratin, but then it was just slightly-cheesy-and-more-flavorful-milk "goo". Oh well. I tried. As my husband said afterward, if there was only about 1/3 of the milk mixture it'd have probably tasted better. One other thing I thought about trying but forgot to mix in to "rescue" it-garlic powder. I added it on top at the end and it worked a bit better, it would have more so I believe had it been mixed in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I was excited by all the positive reviews. I always like the taste of turnips in my soups so I wanted to try it as a side. It was disappointed. It did not have enough flavor. I think that maybe adding tarragon would help. Also, maybe adding some carmelized onions would also help. Will be looking for another turnip recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
Perfect recipe, just added pepper and everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I tried turnips for the first time ever tonight. These were delicious! The only changes I made was I simmered 3 turnips and reserved 1 cup of the water that I boiled the turnips in, as I wanted to return the taste and nutrients back into the recipe, so I used the water instead of milk. I have 3 turnips left and I will be making this recipe again very soon! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I had never tried a turnip until I tried out this recipe. I bought 5 small ones, as my grocery store does not carry large ones. I modified the recipe a bit, I made a larger amount of roux and added more milk-must say, it is very tasty and I agree with the other post that says it tastes like broccoli with cheese sauce! Can't wait to try more turnip recipes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I've never had turnips before but I got some for free from a friends garden so I thought I'd try this recipe. This dish was pretty easy to make and had a nice subtle flavor. It would make a good side dish instead of potatoes for any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Turnips are not my favorite vegetable but this is a really good dish. I made it just as the recipe stated but tripled for my big family. The kids even ate it without complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anna Bushka
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
We grew turnips in our garden for the first time this year, and they grew like crazy. This recipe is great and I would totally use it again! I left out the sugar, since it was not Thanksgiving and we didn't need any extra sugar. My family is not really fond of turnips, but we ate this all gone. It tastes like brocoli with white cheese melted over them... Not bad for turnips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Bushka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Quick Creamed Curried Corn

This rich, creamy corn side dish has no cream or butter.

Creamed Cabbage

See how to make a creamy, incredibly easy cabbage side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States