Thai Tuna Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Best I ever made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
These burgers were oustanding! I made them for my dad for Father's Day, and he really enjoyed them! I was not a fan of tuna until now! We bought the tuna from the local seafood market here at the Jersey Shore. We just made some renovations to our house including the kitchen so I had to make some adjustments which ended up benefiting the burger's outcome. I could not find the grater for the carrot therefore I finely diced the carrot. I also used Old Bay seasoning instead of cumin. I served them along side some grilled zucchini and squash that I light brushed with soem EVOO, as well as some corn on the cob. Also when cooking the burgers, I grilled them rather than placing them in the broiler. When I grilled them, I placed each pattie into aluminum foil which prevented the pattie from breaking apart on the grill and helped achieve and maintain that "burger" shape. Again these were great, and definitely a healthy choice! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
Yum !!! Very exotic taste. Didn't make as a burger with bun . Served them on top of an Asian style cole slaw accompanied with Jasmine rice. Drizzled with soy sauce and a peanut dressing, garnished with lime wedges. I used Japanese bread crumbs. Have made it 4 times already. It helps if the tuna is slighty frozen when mincing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
This was a fantastic recipe, very delicious. My husband demolished all the patties very quickly. I didn't put in buns, but served the patties alone with a sode salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
Very good! My picky husband really liked it so that alone makes it worth 5 stars. I only had 1lb of fresh tuna, so I scaled it down to 4 servings. I still used 1 egg and added a little extra breadcrumbs(Panko). I was surprised that they held together quite well. Served with an Asian cole slaw recipe from this site. I put the slaw on the burger but next time I will serve it on the side because the peanut sauce overwhelmed the tuna. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Excellent! I didn't have tuna steaks, so I just used two 7 oz family size packages of Star Kist tuna and it was the perfect amount for 6 regular-sized patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Highland Village, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I served this with a thai peanut sauce over jasmine rice and it was amazing and healthy (except for the peanut sauce). Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nskiddo21

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yuba City, California, USA
Living In: Silver Strand, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
Normally I would not review a recipe in which I change the ingredients but these were so incredible I can't not review them. The changes I made were: substituted the carrot with red bell pepper, substitute the cumin with green curry paste, and I left out the salt and ketchup as there was soy sauce is already a salt and I cannot figure out why ketchup is in a thai flavored recipe. I also grilled the burgers instead of broiling them. The flavor was amazing. I will definitely be making these over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
YUM-O! very good recipe!! I wasn't sure I wanted to mince up my nice tuna steaks, but it was more than worth it for the flavor of these burgers! I took the advice of others & made a few changes: I used 1 tsp green curry paste in place of cumin, omitted the ketchup, left out the cilantro, used more ginger (I like stuff spicy), only used 1 lb. of steaks b/c that's what I had, and served it over Jasmine rice with "The Best Thai Peanut Sauce" by Stephanie M. (heeded others advice with that recipe too). I served the cilantro on the side. YUMMY!! Yea, the ingredient list might be a little strange for both this & the peanut sauce, but wow are they good! I'd recommend tasting the tuna burger first before putting the peanut sauce on it, you may find you like it as is; the peanut sauce gives in an entirely new, but just as good, flavor. My husband loved this as well; it goes in the make-again-soon pile! Thanks Dakota for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
As other satisfied reviewers, I made some changes to the original recipe: used mahi-mahi instead of tuna and did a very small dice rather than mince; doubled the cilantro and used panko bread crumbs. Ginger was a bit overpowering to my taste, but otherwise it was perfectly seasoned and I could taste exactly the hint of sesame oil and cumin. Will make it again with less ginger. I'm guessing that reviewers complaining about bland taste might just prefer more spicier food. In this case you might want to add green curry or hot peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riga, Riga, Latvia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tasty Tuna Burgers

See how to make truly tasty tuna burgers.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States