Thai-Style Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This a fantastic recipe - probably my favourite so far from this site. This recipe presents beautifully (if you're trying to impress guests) and adults and kids alike will love it. (I tell my 3 year old it's chicken and he loves it.) Even better - it's delicious as leftovers. I follow the tip about doubling the sauce - really important.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I found the flavor of the sauce too mild and sedate to merit the appellation "thai-style". I love Thai food and even the fish dishes have more flavor. I don't know if it's a matter of putting more spices, using red onions instead of white onions or what. I used half a white onion, four thai chilies and cilantro and find the flavor mild at best. I'm not crazy about this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I tried this recipe because it was only 4 points on Weight Watchers. I didn't know quite what to expect, but when we tried it... wow! My wife told me to keep it in my bag of tricks because she wanted me to prepare it again. Almost any mild pan fish could be substituted for the tilapia. I have since substituted chicken breasts with favorable results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Stiewig
Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
This is a very tasty dish, filled with strong, Thai flavor. Lemon grass and coconut milk are the two ingredients that really make the recipe Thai. Lemon grass in particular imparts a highly recognizable flavor; substituting cilantro or parsley, as mentioned by other reviewers, will not give you a real sense of this recipe. If you can't find fresh, try dried. It's just not the same without the lemon grass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rocky Hill Gal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This is a delicious and easy dish! Following other suggestions, I doubled the sauce. I omitted the almonds, substituted curry powder for the tumeric, skipped putting salt and pepper on the fish, and added 2 T. of fish sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
This was very good. My wife who is not a big fan of fish was very impressed. Will definitely have again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Crystal, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was really very good. I didn't have coconut milk, so used Cream of Coconut. Others had said to double the sauce so I used 1/2 cup of the cream and 1/2 cup of milk. That was still a bit too sweet (although my son thought it was perfect), so next time I'll just use 1/4 cup of the cream. The red pepper on top is a must! Definitely lights up the dish. This was a fine restaurant quality dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Delicious! I'm glad I read the reviews - doubling the sauce was the way to go. I used lite coconut milk. We served this with jasmine rice. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
I really liked this recipe but my husband felt the fish was too light or mild and suggested trying it with chicken. He enjoyed the sauce, but said there wasn't enough even after doubling it...triple next time, hehe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Healthier Broiled Tilapia Parmesan

See how to make a healthier version of Parmesan-crusted tilapia.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States