Thai-Style Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
I doubled the sauce as well. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laurenski
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Like many of the other reviews, I thought it was good but lacked something. In my experience, Thai restaurants typically serve the coconut sauce a bit thicker or creamier and that is what I was expecting. I substituted the tumeric with madras curry and doubled the sauce and it turned out to be more than enough for 4 fillets. Overall, pretty good flavor, but it does need some salt to pull it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
SO GOOD! Lemon grass isn't easy to find, so I usually just do a teaspoon of lemon juice. This recipe is fast, easy, flavorful and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
this recipe is to die for! it is wonderful, my parents loved it! the only change i made was double the ingredients so i could have leftover sauce to drizzle on white (brown works too) rice and to even use as dip for bread, and it is delicious! serve the tilapia with bread and over rice. i will definetly make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELiSSA T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
Excellent recipe!! I didnt have lemon grass so I substituted it with a little dash of parsley flakes and lemon juice. Great with rice!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
We are huge thai fans and this was extremely disapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
As a Thai food loving family we all agreed this was fantastic! The flavors all came together nicely, I couldn't find lemon grass so I used lemon zest. I'm also not a fan of nuts in my food so first I pulverized the almonds in the blender then I added the other ingredients and blended. I served it over sticky sushi rice, we couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
There was little flavor in this. I added curry, extra cayenne, garlic, extra onion and it was still to bland for us. My boyfriend cleans his plate with the dishes I make. He had two bites of this meal and said he couldn't eat it anymore. Would not reccommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I'm sorry to report that I found this quite bland. From someone who truly enjoys Thai restaurant food, this was only a distant cousin. I used lite coconut milk (part of the problem?) and about 2.5 tbsp of fresh lemon grass. While there was definite heat in the sauce, it was not the craved mouth-burning flavor of Thai food. Maybe the addition of curry (as others suggested) might have helped? Two stars here are for presentation -- the turmeric-yellow sauce looked wonderful in the pan and on the plate. I also recommend jasmine rice as a complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerseyfresh77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I used garlic chili paste instead of crushed red pepper to give it an authentic Thai flavor. Would definitely recommend making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States