Thai-Style Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Amazing meal, but unless you have to, don't skip the lemongrass! I made it without it, and wish I had run to the store to get more. Served over rice and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Delicious sauce! I didn't have lemongrass, so I used lemon basil. Next time I'll try lemongrass, just to see the difference - but I certainly wasn't disappointed. I took others' suggestions about doubling the sauce. Great tip. While it increased the calories of the dish, it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
I only gave this a four when ours was a five with help. I added the turmoric but added thai green curry paste (1 1/2 t.)and red curry powder (1/2 t.) and also a t. or two of fish sauce. I didnt have lemon grass so I added fresh lemon juice. Everything including the pepper flakes were put into the vitamix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARTIMEL
Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I followed this recipes basics, and made modifications based on what I have on hand, personal tastes, and also other reviews. I did make about twice the amount of sauce, as recommended. I didn't have coconut milk, so I used instead milk, cream and shredded coconut. I used a curry paste in place of ginger, garlic and turmeric. I also used a whole lemongrass twig (because I LOVE lemongrass), and some fresh cilantro and a sprinkle of crushed red pepper (we like it spicy) all to the blender. The sauce came out great but I had to use a bit of cornstarch to thicken it up. I had leeks on hand, so sauteed them with a little olive oil and white wine before adding my fish fillets (I used haddock) and my sauce mixture. I simmered the fish for about 15 minutes. I served on rice, topped with steamed red and green bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Good but mild. Didn't use the chili flakes. I felt like it was missing something. Next time, I might add some veggies, like potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Made it with double the sauce (for the rice- based on the reviews), was out of Tumeric and decided I wanted to do Curry... Also decided to throw the red pepper flakes into the food processor to get the heat all over. The aroma was not good... the first few tastes were so disappointing. I added more salt, and it was better. Maybe some more lemongrass? (but one reviewer said not to) definately needs something more... When I go for my leftovers I will try some lime juice and more heat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
While I did not follow this recipe, but mostly got inspired by it, I did combine the onions and coconut milk (I used hot Berber spice, curry, dried ginger,lemon juice and a handful of flaked coconut at the end) and simmered the fish. This was something that I never do with fish(usually always flour and pan fry). The whole family from my 3 year old to my 13 year old, enjoyed it and ate everything up, no leftovers. And the most incredible thing was that I did it with frozen fillets (I was in a jam) and still it was lovely. Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was very good! I didn't have coconut juice since we're about 20 minutes from the closest asian store so I used what I had in hand (guilty!); coconut cream called Coco Real usually used for our pina coladas! Since it's pretty sweet I used half and the rest just water. I didn't have turmeric so I googled the next best and it said dry mustard, since I didn't have that guess what? A squirt of it didn't alter the taste and added a bit of color! It came out sweet, tangy, perfect! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Restaurant quality and presentation. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This was a very good dish. I doubled the recipe so there was enough to put on the rice. My husband liked it. Would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States