Thai-Style Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I'll be honest, in the morning when I first made the sauce and did the old "finger dip taste test", I wasn't crazy about the flavor. But when I made the entire dish that evening, WOW! I made a special trip to a Oriental market for fresh lemongrass and that made a huge impact on the sauce. We had the fish served over rice and a side dish of green beans. Very rich, very Thai. I highly recommend you double the sauce in this recipe. I'm going to try it over chicken as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
The basis was good. I used fresh ginger instead of ground, swapped curry paste for the tumeric,used a whole lemon grass stalk, and omitted the pepper flakes. I also added about 1/8 cup of Fish sauce. I also added garlic in the mix. It was a five star after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This recipe has some Potential but needs to be worked on ... So ,I tried making it the way we make Indian Curry with Thai Blends ,can call fusion sorts.made paste of Fresh ginger, garlic 4 cloves,some fresh coconut meat ,and almonds 6 and little coconut milk (just enough to rotate the grinder).Sauted the onions in 1-2 tbs of canola oil ,then added the paste and fried it for 5 mints at low,added water 1/2 cup and covered and cooked ,added 1 tbs Indian red pepper powder + 1/2 tbs Coriander powder+baby carrots ,some cauliflower florets (all precooked) at this point added fish fillets and lastly some frozen peas.It took 10 mints after adding fillets to done the Curry.thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I used garlic chili paste instead of crushed red pepper to give it an authentic Thai flavor. Would definitely recommend making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
As a Thai food loving family we all agreed this was fantastic! The flavors all came together nicely, I couldn't find lemon grass so I used lemon zest. I'm also not a fan of nuts in my food so first I pulverized the almonds in the blender then I added the other ingredients and blended. I served it over sticky sushi rice, we couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Do you remember the movie, 'Amadeus?' The part when Salieri was performing a little march in Mozart's honor of meeting. Mozart took the silly little tune and turned it into something great. The same holds true with this recipe. I added one whole can of coconut milk, 3 x 1 inch piece of ginger peeled,12 almonds, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, 1 tablespoon of fish sauce, 2 tablespoons of curry paste(red or green or yellow) dropped the salt and sprinkled the fish on one side with hot curry powder and black pepper and garlic powder on the other side. I added 1 tablespoon of sesame oil to the pan and lightly fried both sides of the fish and then covered with the sauce on low heat for 15 minutes, garnished lightly with red pepper powder, then served over a bed of rice.That was really an AWESOME dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This recipe is simply awesome!! It's soo tasty, you can't get enough of it. My boyfriend told me this was the best fish recipe he ever tasted and I agree with him... I suggest to double the sauce though, it is really good and goes very well with basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
We are huge thai fans and this was extremely disapointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Excellent will def. make again! Even my husband loved it and went for secounds. Fish is not a favorite of his! I didn't have ginger on hand so I skipped it and added garlic but never the less it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by de'Monfort

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Something I would never make again, I followed the recipe, but I dont think it tasted thai, mostly i tasted the blah taste of the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Easy Baked Tilapia

Prepare a healthy and delicious meal in just a handful of minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States