Thai-Style Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I'm sorry to report that I found this quite bland. From someone who truly enjoys Thai restaurant food, this was only a distant cousin. I used lite coconut milk (part of the problem?) and about 2.5 tbsp of fresh lemon grass. While there was definite heat in the sauce, it was not the craved mouth-burning flavor of Thai food. Maybe the addition of curry (as others suggested) might have helped? Two stars here are for presentation -- the turmeric-yellow sauce looked wonderful in the pan and on the plate. I also recommend jasmine rice as a complement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerseyfresh77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is a very good recipe. I used garlic chili paste instead of crushed red pepper to give it an authentic Thai flavor. Would definitely recommend making this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This recipe has some Potential but needs to be worked on ... So ,I tried making it the way we make Indian Curry with Thai Blends ,can call fusion sorts.made paste of Fresh ginger, garlic 4 cloves,some fresh coconut meat ,and almonds 6 and little coconut milk (just enough to rotate the grinder).Sauted the onions in 1-2 tbs of canola oil ,then added the paste and fried it for 5 mints at low,added water 1/2 cup and covered and cooked ,added 1 tbs Indian red pepper powder + 1/2 tbs Coriander powder+baby carrots ,some cauliflower florets (all precooked) at this point added fish fillets and lastly some frozen peas.It took 10 mints after adding fillets to done the Curry.thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
We liked this a lot. We also doubled the sauce and added red curry paste, a little chili oil and fish sauce. Very good - we all had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
The basis was good. I used fresh ginger instead of ground, swapped curry paste for the tumeric,used a whole lemon grass stalk, and omitted the pepper flakes. I also added about 1/8 cup of Fish sauce. I also added garlic in the mix. It was a five star after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
The sauce came out really lumpy b/c of the processed almonds. Maybe my blender is not good at pureeing the nuts. Seemed bland to me, but I did cut out the hot spices b/c I can't handle it. I felt it missed flavor (not spiciness).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I tried this recipes, and wasn't a big fan. It tasted really bland, no real flavor. I love Thai food, and this just didn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
Something I would never make again, I followed the recipe, but I dont think it tasted thai, mostly i tasted the blah taste of the coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This recipe has amazing flavor and yet requires so little work! Definitely one of the best recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
Not quite sure what to make of this one. Followed directions exactly but the taste was not what we were expecting. Not sure if I would try again but thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States