Thai-Style Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
This recipe needs a lot of work. It is known that Thai food has to be well balanced salty, sweet, sour and hot. I have used fish sauce instead of the salt, added a bit of sugar, a squeeze of lemon and a chili. I have also used more lemongrass and added some shredded kafir lime leaves. it tasted a lot better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Absolutely delicious. I ground up the red pepper flakes in the blender with the rest of the sauce instead of sprinkling them on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
We loved this! It was excellent, with one minor addition. I added 1 Tbsp of Thai Red Curry paste. I also used an entire can of coconut milk because my family likes to have extra sauce for the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Smelled fantastic, looked authentic, but tasted very bland. I think it just needs a little something extra to give it that authentic Thai kick, I'm just not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANDORA19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was delicious!!! I took the advice of some other reviewers and added curry paste in place of tumeric and was not at all disapointed! I love thai food and this definitely had good thai flavour. Don't skip the lemon grass!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
very good recipe, be really careful with the lemon grass, too much and it makes the recipe a disaster, as I did on my first try, oops!! but still, a great recipe, I'll be using this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
So I used lemon juice instead of lemongrass (hey, it was Easter), fresh grated ginger instead of powdered, and a whole can of full-fat coconut milk (oops--forgot to check the measurements). The result was really saucy and yummy, excellent over brown rice. I can't wait to try the lemongrass if it's this good without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I thought this recipe was very good. I am always serching for new and different recipes and this one fit the task. I did not use the lemon grass or turmeric as where I live it was not avilable but we still enjoyed it. Gave tilapia a whole new taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
This was not what we were hoping for! I made it exactly by the recipe and it did not taste good. Since I was already committed, I made it again, used 1/2 the turmeric, more lemon grass and fresh ginger. It helped, it was still not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This dish was a huge disappointment. There was little to no taste, and I followed the recipe to a "T." Worst of all, we think the smell rates lower than the taste. We will continue to explore Thai cooking, but we will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States