Thai-Style Tilapia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
The original recipe is a bit too hot for my taste...I leave out the crushed red pepper. After modifications though, this recipes is delicious! I'm making it for the second time tonight :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Do you remember the movie, 'Amadeus?' The part when Salieri was performing a little march in Mozart's honor of meeting. Mozart took the silly little tune and turned it into something great. The same holds true with this recipe. I added one whole can of coconut milk, 3 x 1 inch piece of ginger peeled,12 almonds, 2 tablespoons of brown sugar, 1 tablespoon of fish sauce, 2 tablespoons of curry paste(red or green or yellow) dropped the salt and sprinkled the fish on one side with hot curry powder and black pepper and garlic powder on the other side. I added 1 tablespoon of sesame oil to the pan and lightly fried both sides of the fish and then covered with the sauce on low heat for 15 minutes, garnished lightly with red pepper powder, then served over a bed of rice.That was really an AWESOME dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Excellent will def. make again! Even my husband loved it and went for secounds. Fish is not a favorite of his! I didn't have ginger on hand so I skipped it and added garlic but never the less it was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by de'Monfort

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeland, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I really liked this, my wife and kids thought it was hot, but not me, just enough to warm the lips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very nice! I can see this becoming a favorite in our family. I doubled the sauce as some suggested. The only thing is, I think the ginger might be too much because it's a bit bitter, next time I'll put only half the amount. And I will ground the almond first before putting it with the rest of the sauce ingredients. Thank you for a very nice recipe. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I loved this receipe. My kids aren't crazy about tiliapia so I use boneless chicken thighs or even cubed chicken breasts. The best part is the pureed sauce. The first time I made it I didn't have any fresh lemon grass so I used the paste that comes in a tube by Gourmet Garden Lemon Grass Herb Blend. It was a good substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This recipe was great! We made it exactly to the instructions and it turned out very tasty. It was so easy. The hardest part was finding lemongrass which we ended up finding in the international foods section in a jar instead of using fresh. We also used light coconut milk to cut down on the calories even more. Definitely recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My husband thought this was great, very simple to make and very colorful! I found it very interesting and have nothing negative to say! good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ckelly976

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, New York, USA
Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Wonderful recipe. I made some of the suggested changes, doubled the sauce, I didn't have lemon grass so I used a little lemon pepper, added some garlic and curry powder. Served over rice. It is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Covington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
This recipe has become a permanent Friday meal. I passed it on to my daughter and it is now a weekly favorite of hers also. Thank you for this fabulous recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindyGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pan-Seared Tilapia

Discover the delicious and easy way to prepare tilapia.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Garlic Alfredo Tilapia

Make this popular restaurant dish from scratch--it's easy and so tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States