Thai Style Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
great quick meal! every one loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcoralee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
This stuff is just amazing! I especially liked that it did not call for cilantro or curry (of which I don't typically have on hand). The aroma was just so satiating, I was really hoping it would taste nearly as good as it smelled, and it did not disappoint! I used cayenne pepper (1/2-1tsp or to taste, I like mine with a good kick) instead of the jalapeno, and simmered chopped baby bellas with the onions, and WOW! Definitely going to be a staple on my repertoire of regulars!! I have never been so impressed that I felt compared to leave a review, but I had to share my enthusiasm about this dish! It's absolutely delightful to all the senses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Crawford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
5 star's hands down! I used 2 Thai red chili peppers instead of a jalapeno and Thai basil, both of which I picked out of my own little garden! Per other reviews added some sesame oil to the small food processor to make the paste. I also used 3/4 of a large can of diced tomatoes and drained them as I did not have fresh on hand. I added the basil a few minutes (maybe 5) BEFORE adding the shrimp (which was saved till the very last)and pronounced it done once the shrimp turned pink. This was simple to make but tasted as if it took an awful lot more effort! The only change I will make next time is to use a 3rd pepper for making it as is. My plans however are to double the recipe next time for company and leftovers for the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Photo by panathenia
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
If you're expecting a spicy dish....this is not it. The flavours blend and balance very well together. The only thing I changed was to make the sauce and reduce it BEFORE adding the shrimp. Shrimp are cooked as soon as they are pink and shouldn't be simmered too long or they turn rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Since my wife is Thai, I thought I'd finally add some comments on this recipe. For creating the paste, there's no substitute for a good heavy Thai mortar and pestle. If you don't have that, add a little of the coconut milk to your food processor. As far as the criticism of it being "bland", try using Thai Chili's or Habanero to taste instead of the Jalapeno, or don't remove the hot seeds and inner flesh when you mash the Jalapeno, (you can mash the chili's to a paste separately and be careful and taste the sauce as it's cooking, these chili's are VERY hot so don't use too much!). Also, you can add a tablespoon or more of Palm Sugar to taste while its cooking. Coconut milk will thicken more the longer you cook it, so if your sauce is soupy, you're not cooking it long enough. Add the shrimp and basil last, once the sauce has thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This was better than I expected, mainly because it seemed too easy. I had to add 2 tbs of oil to make my paste like others and used curry and cumin in place of turmeric. I also subbed out basil with cilantro because I love cilantro in Thai food and it was a perfect fit. I will keep this one on hand as it is quite delicious and so fast to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike_Carter_71

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I have made this over and over. The first time, my husband and I raced each other to the kitchen to finish off the sauce. We love it and make exactly as directed. I find the small electric food choppers to be the easiest for making the jalapeno/turmeric/ginger paste. I also use Roma tomatoes because I think they keep their color the best in this recipe. This goes perfectly over a generous scoop of Bazmati rice(or jasmine, anything aromatic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YoungEmC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
very delectable and just spicy enough! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stereo steve 85

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Good. Will make again with changes. It seemed to sweet to me. I used sweet Vidalia onions and sweet coconut milk since it was not specific in the recipe. Also the shrimp was overcooked in an attempt to thicken the sauce a little. I will make again without sweet onions and with unsweetened coconut milk. I'm an experimental cook, read- not very good, but will try again! This recipe is worth another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was AMAZING! I loved it. My husband loved it. Kids...well I skewered some shrimp for them, because the sauce is spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Spiced Barbecue Shrimp

See how to make a kicking Thai-inspired marinade for grilled shrimp.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Thai Shrimp Spirals

This delicious appetizer is crunchy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States