Thai-Style Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This recipe was great! It is very versatile, I like that the measurements of the ingredients can be adjusted to your preference (adjust the curry and chili sauce for level of heat). I didn't have the toasted sesame oil, or the rice wine vinegar on hand, and it was still very good! I served it over noodles, topped with chicken, water chestnuts green onions, red bell peppers, chopped peanuts, bean sprouts and cilantro. It got rave reviews at our dinner, and I've referred 2 people already to this recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a relatively easy recipe with authentic flavor. I didn't have pickled ginger so I just used a bit of fresh. Tastes like the restaurant down the street. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
The natural style peanut butter works well in this sauce, and like other reviewers, I added more coconut milk because the can is barely used when prepared as directed, it doesn't hurt it and it make more. I used equal parts peanut butter coconut milk. Also, I did not use the sweet chili sauce but the red chili paste because we use sweet chili sauce as the other condiment with the chicken skewers which we marinade with... did not use rice wine but substituted with red wine vinegar. This is *excellent* in a meal with chicken bentos, rice and edamame, super easy too (though it does have some ingredients that you might have to shop for). thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Made exactly according to the recipe except I didn't have any rice wine so I doubled the rice wine vinegar. Served with spaghetti noodles and chicken. It tasted great, but the leftover sauce was a little thick and gloppy so I thinned the leftover with a couple Tbsp. of coconut milk. This is almost identical to J. Alexanders' restaurant peanut sauce that they drizzle on their Thai Kai Chicken Salad that has already been tossed in honey-lime-cilantro viniagrette. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe. Better if made ahead to allow flavors to meld. Added some red pepper flakes for a little kick. Served with satay chicken skewers from Costco that are ready in 20 minutes. Great condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I didn't follow directions, my bad. I put everything in the sauce pan and looked back and it was thick, like sour cream. SO...I added the whole can of cocount milk and added another t. of curry and 2 T of sambal, one would probably suffice for tamer tastebuds, then ran it thru the blender. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Followed the recipe except for omitting the fish sauce and using dried ginger instead of pickled, but something about the amounts seems off. The peanut butter/coconut milk was way too thick. It didn't get melty as it heated, just seemed to get thicker (more so than the peanut butter right out of the jar. I used Skippy Natural). I ended up having to add lots more coconut milk just to get it close to the right consistency. I think the extra coconut milk may have diluted the other flavors too much though because I found this pretty bland for peanut sauce. I like the ingredients and I will tinker with this recipe again, but I wonder if I'd be better off with doubling everything but the peanut butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Thickened this up after using it to marinate chicken and served it as a sauce with sprinkled chopped peanuts as a garnish, very nice indeed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Man this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calcutta, West Bengal , India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Great peanut sauce recipe -- tastes just like the one my Thai friends make for us. I added twice as much coconut milk for a more "runny" sauce. My kids loved dipping their sticky rice balls in this sauce, and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Peanut Dipping Sauce

This simple, Asian-inspired dipping sauce is perfect for grilled meats and more.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Fresh Strawberry Sauce

See how to make a simple strawberry sauce for cheesecakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States