Thai-Style Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This recipe was great! It is very versatile, I like that the measurements of the ingredients can be adjusted to your preference (adjust the curry and chili sauce for level of heat). I didn't have the toasted sesame oil, or the rice wine vinegar on hand, and it was still very good! I served it over noodles, topped with chicken, water chestnuts green onions, red bell peppers, chopped peanuts, bean sprouts and cilantro. It got rave reviews at our dinner, and I've referred 2 people already to this recipe. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by t_jones
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
The taste was perfect ! I added cilantro which worked really well, the only problem was it was too runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
I made this as a dipping sauce and I thought it was great! I added fresh ginger along with the pickled ginger since I love ginger so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I didn't follow directions, my bad. I put everything in the sauce pan and looked back and it was thick, like sour cream. SO...I added the whole can of cocount milk and added another t. of curry and 2 T of sambal, one would probably suffice for tamer tastebuds, then ran it thru the blender. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is a relatively easy recipe with authentic flavor. I didn't have pickled ginger so I just used a bit of fresh. Tastes like the restaurant down the street. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Believe it or not, I had all the ingredients for this sauce in my house. But my peanut butter never melted, after I stirred in the coconut milk, it turned a dark caramel color and sat there looking lumpily up at me. So I had to whisk in quite a bit more coconut milk to thin it out. I increased the amount of Asian curry powder, garlic and sesame oil. And I added some red pepper flakes, lime juice, cilantro and green onions. The sauce came out great, and I'm serving it with Thai Chicken Balls from this site. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Great peanut sauce recipe -- tastes just like the one my Thai friends make for us. I added twice as much coconut milk for a more "runny" sauce. My kids loved dipping their sticky rice balls in this sauce, and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe. Better if made ahead to allow flavors to meld. Added some red pepper flakes for a little kick. Served with satay chicken skewers from Costco that are ready in 20 minutes. Great condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
The natural style peanut butter works well in this sauce, and like other reviewers, I added more coconut milk because the can is barely used when prepared as directed, it doesn't hurt it and it make more. I used equal parts peanut butter coconut milk. Also, I did not use the sweet chili sauce but the red chili paste because we use sweet chili sauce as the other condiment with the chicken skewers which we marinade with... did not use rice wine but substituted with red wine vinegar. This is *excellent* in a meal with chicken bentos, rice and edamame, super easy too (though it does have some ingredients that you might have to shop for). thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Man this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calcutta, West Bengal , India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peanut Dipping Sauce

This simple, Asian-inspired dipping sauce is perfect for grilled meats and more.

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States