Thai-Style Peanut Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
The sauce was extremely thick and just tasted a lot like peanut butter. I would recommend cutting the peanut butter in half, but I am pretty sure there must be a better recipe out there for this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Followed the recipe except for omitting the fish sauce and using dried ginger instead of pickled, but something about the amounts seems off. The peanut butter/coconut milk was way too thick. It didn't get melty as it heated, just seemed to get thicker (more so than the peanut butter right out of the jar. I used Skippy Natural). I ended up having to add lots more coconut milk just to get it close to the right consistency. I think the extra coconut milk may have diluted the other flavors too much though because I found this pretty bland for peanut sauce. I like the ingredients and I will tinker with this recipe again, but I wonder if I'd be better off with doubling everything but the peanut butter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This peanut sauce is divine!! I omitted the pickled ginger and while it simmered on the stove I did add a cup or two of water so it didn't get too thick. It turned out perfect! I served it with chicken satay skewers that had marinated in the same sauce overnight for guests and they raved about the dinner! Definitely a must make again in the future! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magnoliakng

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Thickened this up after using it to marinate chicken and served it as a sauce with sprinkled chopped peanuts as a garnish, very nice indeed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Made exactly according to the recipe except I didn't have any rice wine so I doubled the rice wine vinegar. Served with spaghetti noodles and chicken. It tasted great, but the leftover sauce was a little thick and gloppy so I thinned the leftover with a couple Tbsp. of coconut milk. This is almost identical to J. Alexanders' restaurant peanut sauce that they drizzle on their Thai Kai Chicken Salad that has already been tossed in honey-lime-cilantro viniagrette. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Man this was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Calcutta, West Bengal , India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
The natural style peanut butter works well in this sauce, and like other reviewers, I added more coconut milk because the can is barely used when prepared as directed, it doesn't hurt it and it make more. I used equal parts peanut butter coconut milk. Also, I did not use the sweet chili sauce but the red chili paste because we use sweet chili sauce as the other condiment with the chicken skewers which we marinade with... did not use rice wine but substituted with red wine vinegar. This is *excellent* in a meal with chicken bentos, rice and edamame, super easy too (though it does have some ingredients that you might have to shop for). thanks to the submitter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe. Better if made ahead to allow flavors to meld. Added some red pepper flakes for a little kick. Served with satay chicken skewers from Costco that are ready in 20 minutes. Great condiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Great peanut sauce recipe -- tastes just like the one my Thai friends make for us. I added twice as much coconut milk for a more "runny" sauce. My kids loved dipping their sticky rice balls in this sauce, and so did I!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Believe it or not, I had all the ingredients for this sauce in my house. But my peanut butter never melted, after I stirred in the coconut milk, it turned a dark caramel color and sat there looking lumpily up at me. So I had to whisk in quite a bit more coconut milk to thin it out. I increased the amount of Asian curry powder, garlic and sesame oil. And I added some red pepper flakes, lime juice, cilantro and green onions. The sauce came out great, and I'm serving it with Thai Chicken Balls from this site. Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Peanut Dipping Sauce

This simple, Asian-inspired dipping sauce is perfect for grilled meats and more.

Better-Than-Olive Garden® Alfredo Sauce

Classic creamy and cheesy Alfredo sauce.

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States